Davison and Whincup share Race 28 front-row

Davison has ended the season with back-to-back poles

Davison has ended the season with back-to-back poles

Will Davison and Jamie Whincup will share the front-row of the grid for the 28th and final race of the 2011 V8 Supercars Championship at the Sydney Telstra 500.

In a 20 minute qualifying session peppered with red flag periods, Davison proved that new components flown in overnight to beef up the front-end of the Ford Performance Racing Falcons have not affected their speed.

Jamie Whincup languished outside the top 15 until the final minutes, but recovered to be just 0.17s shy of his former housemate’s 1:27.46s pole time.

Mark Winterbottom could not improve on his final lap and ended up third, ahead of Craig Lowndes, Paul Dumbrell, James Courtney, Shane van Gisbergen, Jonathon Webb, Tony D’Alberto and Lee Holdsworth.


The first red flag appeared at the four minute mark of the session, after Greg Murphy (stuck in the tyre barriers at Turn 3) and Dean Fiore (stranded on circuit after flying over the tyre bundle at the Turn 7 chicane) both struck trouble.

A session was stopped for a second time after just three more minutes of running, with Garth Tander in the tyre wall at Turn 1.

Whincup languished in 16th at the time of the second red flag, and drove wildly upon the resumption of the session – glancing the wall exiting Turn 7 before eventually spinning at Turn 9.

The pressure on the championship leader then increased further with Lowndes moving to the top of the order as a mistake from Michael Caruso at Turn 1 meant there would be another red flag and just five more minutes in order to bank a respectable time.

While Whincup recovered his session over the course of his final two laps, Murphy, Tander and Caruso all sat in their garages, and will start 27th, 26th and 21st respectively.

Fiore’s team is now in a race against time just to make the start of Race 27, due to the damage sustained in his crash.

A torrential downpour hit the Sydney Olympic Park Street Circuit immediately following the qualifying session, throwing up a major wildcard ahead of the race, which is set to get underway at 1505 local time.

See below for the full session result

1 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:27.4562
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:27.6257 0:00.1695
3 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:27.6985 0:00.2423
4 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:27.9087 0:00.4525
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:27.9312 0:00.4750
6 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:27.9995 0:00.5433
7 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:28.0197 0:00.5635
8 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:28.1328 0:00.6766
9 Wilson Security Team McGrath Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:28.1655 0:00.7093
10 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.1786 0:00.7224
11 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.2893 0:00.8331
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.3990 0:00.9428
13 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.5101 0:01.0539
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.5229 0:01.0667
15 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.5306 0:01.0744
16 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:28.5542 0:01.0980
17 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:28.5741 0:01.1179
18 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.6016 0:01.1454
19 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:28.8927 0:01.4365
20 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.9474 0:01.4912
21 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.9823 0:01.5261
22 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.0264 0:01.5702
23 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.0695 0:01.6133
24 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.1003 0:01.6441
25 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:29.1628 0:01.7066
26 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 8:54.4199 7:26.9637
27 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2
Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG

Comments are closed.