Thompson wins to secure Fujitsu V8 Series

Thompson has won the 2011 FV8 Series

Thompson has won the 2011 FV8 Series

Andrew Thompson has secured the 2011 Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series crown by winning the first of two races for the category at the Sydney Telstra 500.

Thompson led the 17-lap race from start-to-finish, with fellow front-row starter and eventual second place finisher Nick Percat unable to do anything about the Triple Eight Commodore.

The final margin between the pair was just 0.9s thanks to Thompson taking it easy over the final two laps.

Chaz Mostert ran third for the duration to finish ahead of David Russell, Jack Perkins, Tim Blanchard, Paul Morris, Andrew Jones, Drew Russell and Scott McLaughlin.

Starting from the rear of the grid thanks to a mistake at the Turn 6/7 chicane in qualifying this morning, McLaughlin steadily went about making up ground throughout the race – eventually moving into the Top 10 with three laps remaining.

The Safety Car was required on the very opening lap, after Rodney Jane and Marcus Zukanovic made heavy contact with the concrete walls between Turns 1 and 2. Both drivers emerged unscathed, despite their cars receiving significant damage.

Marcus Zukanovic's damaged Commodore

Marcus Zukanovic's damaged Commodore

Daniel Jilesen joined the pair on the retirements list, with the Kiwi having encountered brake issues mid-race while running an impressive fourth.

Robert Cregan also encountered dramas, as contact with the tyre barriers at Turn 9 required a trip to the pitlane to remove a damaged rear-bumper.

Taz Douglas’s rear-bumper meanwhile received a tap from Paul Morris at Turn 12 – sending the Fastaz Commodore from sixth to an eventaul finishing position of 14th.

Morris emerged unscathed to finish seventh, one plan behind Tim Blanchard, who kept out of trouble to move up from his 10th place starting position.

Tom Tweedie failed to take the start following his contact with the Turn 12 exit wall in qualifying this morning.

See below for the full race result

1  Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 17 30:10.0044
2  Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 17 30:10.9354
3  TEAM NAVY Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 17 30:12.7625
4  Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 17 30:27.1976
5  Bob Jane T Marts Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 17 30:27.6785
6  Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 17 30:31.4424
7  Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE 17 30:35.3894
8  Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 17 30:38.6618
9  Carrington Equip/Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 17 30:41.1876
10  Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 17 30:41.4913
11  Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE 17 30:46.1556
12  CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 17 30:46.7446
13  AC Delco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 17 30:49.3322
14  Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ 17 31:05.1910
15 / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 17 31:08.9690
16  Bisley Work Wear Colin Sieders Ford Falcon BF 17 31:09.9506
17  Drill Pro Services/Fuchs/ACS Nick Cassidy Holden Commodore VE 17 31:12.1450
18  Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 17 31:27.2318
19  Solo/NCSS Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 17 31:30.6998
20  Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 16 31:25.5974
DNF  R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 12 23:25.8335
DNF  Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG
DNF  STR Truck Bodies Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE

Comments are closed.