Thompson steps closer to Fujitsu title

Andrew Thompson

Andrew Thompson

Andrew Thompson has made the perfect start to this weekend’s Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series title decider by scoring pole position for Race 1.

After clutch and electrical issues left him just fifth fastest in Friday practice, Thompson lapped the Sydney Olympic Park venue in a best time of 1:29.91s in qualifying, to beat Nick Percat by 0.25s.

Chaz Mostert was a further 0.42s adrift in third, having been baulked on his final flyer after recording the fastest time to the end of the second sector.

The Navy-backed FPR pilot’s chances of a second consecutive pole were reduced to zero when a red flag appeared soon after for the stranded Commodore of Marcus Zukanovic.

Daniel Jilesen had jumped to fourth just prior to the final stoppage, while David Russell, Jack Perkins, Andrew Jones, Taz Douglas, Paul Morris and Tim Blanchard rounded out the top 10.

Scott McLaughlin’s best time was good enough for fifth fastest, but was removed for causing an early red flag, leaving the 18-year-old to start from 23rd.

Thompson currently holds a 233 point lead over David Russell in the series standings, with 150 points available to the winner of each of the two races this weekend.

See below for the full session result

1  Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 1:28.9141
2  Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 1:29.1625 0:00.2484
3  TEAM NAVY Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5833 0:00.6692
4  R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 1:29.7765 0:00.8624
5  Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 1:30.0051 0:01.0910
6  Bob Jane T Marts Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 1:30.1102 0:01.1961
7  Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 1:30.2430 0:01.3289
8  Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ 1:30.3296 0:01.4155
9  Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE 1:30.3733 0:01.4592
10  Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 1:30.5243 0:01.6102
11  Carrington Equip/Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 1:30.5273 0:01.6132
12  CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 1:30.7386 0:01.8245
13  AC Delco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 1:30.7549 0:01.8408
14  Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 1:30.9205 0:02.0064
15  Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE 1:31.1527 0:02.2386
16  STR Truck Bodies Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 1:31.4440 0:02.5299
17 / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 1:31.4603 0:02.5462
18  Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 1:32.2599 0:03.3458
19  Bisley Work Wear Colin Sieders Ford Falcon BF 1:33.3361 0:04.4220
20  Solo/NCSS Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 1:33.6413 0:04.7272
21  Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 1:34.6871 0:05.7730
22  Drill Pro Services/Fuchs/ACS Nick Cassidy Holden Commodore VE 1:34.6912 0:05.7771
23  Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 7:51.1629 6:22.2488
24  Team Tom Supporters Club Tom Tweedie Ford Falcon BF 1:28.9141

Comments are closed.