Jamie Whincup fastest in Race 27 qualifying

Jamie Whincup has taken provisional pole on the Sydney streets

Jamie Whincup has taken provisional pole on the Sydney streets

Jamie Whincup will be the last man out in today’s Top 10 Shootout after topping the 20 minute qualifying session.

The TeamVodafone driver, who could win the championship this afternoon by finishing within sight of team-mate Craig Lowndes, will be aiming to equal his all-time record of 10 poles in a season when the Shootout gets underway at 1125 local time.

The 28-year-old sat at the top of the order after the first runs had been completed, recording a 1:28.11s lap before heading to the pits for a second set of tyres.

While Will Davison shot to the top by 0.29s with eight minutes remaining, Whincup fired back with a 1:27.49s effort – leaving the two-time champion to spend a nervous final four minutes watching on from the garage.

Davison improved to 1:27.60s on his last lap to cement second, while team-mate Mark Winterbottom was third having struggled with oversteer in the Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon.

Lee Holdsworth, Tim Slade, Shane van Gisberben, Jonathon Webb, Michael Caruso, Craig Lowndes and Rick Kelly complete the Shootout field.

Jim Beam Racing team-mates James Moffat and Steven Johnson finished the session 15th and 21st respectively after both spinning on their first flying laps.

Johnson’s lose through the Turn 6/7 chicane changed the complexion of the session, as he moved the Turn 7 apex bundle onto the racing line.

Greg Murphy was 18th after also finding trouble on his first run – striking the Turn 1 exit wall in his Pepsi Max Commodore.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2  1:27.4947
2 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG  1:27.6036 0:00.1089
3 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG  1:28.0904 0:00.5957
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.0999 0:00.6052
5 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG  1:28.1003 0:00.6056
6 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG  1:28.1471 0:00.6524
7 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG  1:28.1886 0:00.6939
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.2189 0:00.7242
9 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.2311 0:00.7364
10 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.3005 0:00.8058
11 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.3186 0:00.8239
12 Wilson Security Team McGrath Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG  1:28.3479 0:00.8532
13 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.4671 0:00.9724
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.5053 0:01.0106
15 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG  1:28.5279 0:01.0332
16 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.6374 0:01.1427
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.6692 0:01.1745
18 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.6795 0:01.1848
19 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG  1:28.6831 0:01.1884
20 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG  1:28.7033 0:01.2086
21 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG  1:28.7155 0:01.2208
22 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.8108 0:01.3161
23 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.8945 0:01.3998
24 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.9016 0:01.4069
25 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.9043 0:01.4096
26 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2  1:28.9464 0:01.4517
27 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG  1:28.9581 0:01.4634
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2  1:29.0743 0:01.5796

Comments are closed.