Davison on pole as TeamVodafone falters

Will Davison

Will Davison

Will Davison has taken his third pole position of the season in a surprise Top 10 Shootout result at the Sydney Telstra 500.

The Trading Post FPR Falcon driver will share the front-row with Lee Holdsworth, while Mark Winterbottom and Shane van Gisbergen ensured three Fords will start in the top four.

Jamie Whincup was the last man out thanks to his effort in the earlier qualifying session, but lost 0.7s with a mistake at the Turn 2/3/4 chicane and could only recover to fifth.

Jonathon Webb, Tim Slade, Rick Kelly and Michael Caruso filled sixth through ninth.

The session was a disaster for Craig Lowndes, who tagged the wall at the exit of Turn 1 before spinning at Turn 11. He will start 10th.

Race 27 is scheduled to kick-off at 1505 local time.

CLICK HERE for Speedcafe.com’s earlier qualifying report

See below for the Top 10 Shootout result

1 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:28.1158  
2 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.4848 0:00.3690
3 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:28.5216 0:00.4058
4 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:28.5523 0:00.4365
5 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.6130 0:00.4972
6 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:28.8390 0:00.7232
7 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:28.9652 0:00.8494
8 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.1179 0:01.0021
9 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.1856 0:01.0698
10 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:47.9322 0:19.8164

Comments are closed.