Bowe and Miedecke share TCM race wins

Andrew Miedecke

Andrew Miedecke

John Bowe and Andrew Miedecke have taken a win apiece on the penultimate day of the 2011 Touring Car Masters season on the streets of Sydney Olympic Park.

Bowe led from start-to-finish in Race 1, which was eventually declared with just seven laps completed following a major incident.

Triggered by contact between Nigel Benson and Tony Karanfilovski exiting Turn 1, the crash caused major damage to the latter’s Falcon, and saw the Safety Car pace the field until time constraints force the end of the event.

Glenn Seton, Andrew Miedecke, Jim Richards and Cameron Tilley completed the top five, with just half points awarded due to the early stoppage.

Miedecke struck back in the reverse top 10 grid Race 2, keeping his slim title hopes alive.

Seton fought through from the fifth row to take second – just 1.1s adrift of Miedecke – ahead of Cameron Tilley, Brad Tilley, Bernie Stack, Jim Richards and John Bowe.

The results see Bowe extend his lead in the standings to 61 points over Miedecke with one race remaining, while Richards has slipped to third and is now out of title contention.

The FW1 Aussie Racing Car Series also took to the Homebush layout for Race 1 of their weekend today, with South Australian Adrian Cottrell taking a dominant 3.5s win after the demise of fellow pace-setter Paul Kemal on the penultimate lap.

Sheridan Phillips came home second from Peter Carr, Trent Young and Tyler Owen.

Comments are closed.