FPR’s Will Davison on top in Practice 3

Will Davison

Will Davison

Will Davison has signalled his intentions to take his maiden victory for Ford Performance Racing this weekend by comfortably topping the first all-in session of the weekend.

Davison set a 1:28.27s lap at the 12 minute mark of the half-hour session to remove Practice 2 pace-setter Michael Caruso from the top spot, before lowering the benchmark by a further 0.23s on his final attempt.

Caruso hung on for second ahead of his team-mate Lee Holdsworth, with Craig Lowndes, Mark Winterbottom, Jason Bright, Jonathon Webb, Todd Kelly, Paul Dumbrell and Shane van Gisbergen rounding out the top 10.

Karl Reindler brought out an early red flag in Practice 3, burying the right-front corner of his Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Commodore into the Turn 8 exit tyre barrier after just eight minutes.

Dean Fiore also caused a red flag interruption – the Triple F Falcon sliding through the tyre bundles at the Turn 6/7 chicane after the West Australian lost control in the braking area.

Tony D’Alberto too struck dramas, with a loose oil line leaving him with just six laps completed for the session.

See below for the Practice 3 result

1 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:28.0382
2 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.2640 0:00.2258
3 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.2804 0:00.2422
4 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.3798 0:00.3416
5 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:28.3989 0:00.3607
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.4889 0:00.4507
7 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:28.6227 0:00.5845
8 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.6788 0:00.6406
9 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:28.6988 0:00.6606
10 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:28.7293 0:00.6911
11 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.7564 0:00.7182
12 Wilson Security Team McGrath Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:28.8002 0:00.7620
13 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.8653 0:00.8271
14 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 1:28.9889 0:00.9507
15 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:29.0419 0:01.0037
16 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.1613 0:01.1231
17 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.1839 0:01.1457
18 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.2342 0:01.1960
19 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.2448 0:01.2066
20 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.2874 0:01.2492
21 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.3532 0:01.3150
22 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5086 0:01.4704
23 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:29.5169 0:01.4787
24 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:29.5904 0:01.5522
25 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:29.7239 0:01.6857
26 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:29.9343 0:01.8961
27 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:30.6261 0:02.5879
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:31.3266 0:03.2884

Comments are closed.