Superbikes announces varied 2012 calendar

The 2011 class champions at Phillip Island last weekend

The 2011 class champions at Phillip Island last weekend

The QBE Australian Superbike Championships has announced its 2012 calendar.

Next year’s championship will be contested over seven rounds within four states in 2012, with the World Superbike round at Phillip Island remaining as the traditional season opener from February 24-26.

Combined class grids will see Superbike/Prostock and Supersport/Superstock competitors race together in addition to the first round of the all-new 250 Production class.

Darwin’s Hidden Valley will host Round 2 from April 20-22, with a full compliment of feature and support classes on track for the popular ‘Top End’ event.

The first 2+4 event for the season will be held at Perth’s Barbagallo Raceway on May 4-6, the return prompted by extremely positive responses from V8 Supercars and the West Australian fans.

The second 2+4 event will follow, with the ASBK joining V8 Supercars at Phillip Island, a circuit that showcases rider speed and skill, from 18-20 May.

The remaining three rounds will be standalone, featuring Superbike, Supersport, Prostock, Superstock, 250 Production, Superlites and Supermoto.

These will be held at Queensland Raceway (June 1-3), Phillip Island (August 17-19) and Queensland Raceway (September 14-16).

The 250 Production and Superlites classes will contest an additional round, incorporated with the staging of the Victorian Road Race Championships.

The 2011 Australian Superbike Championship concluded at Phillip Island yesterday. CLICK HERE for’s report.

2012 QBE Australian Superbike Championships calendar

Rd 1. 24-26 Feb 12, Phillip Island, WSBK, (SBK/PST, SSP/SST, SPR)
Rd 2. 20-22 Apr 12, Hidden Valley, SA, (SBK/PST, SSP, SST, SLT)
Rd 3. 4-6 May 12, Barbagallo, V8, (SBK)
Rd 4. 18-20 May 12, Phillip Island, V8, (SBK/PST)
Rd 5. 1-3 Jun 12, QLD Raceway, SA, (SBK/PST, SSP, SST, SLT, SPR, SMO)
Rd 6. 17-19 Aug 12, Phillip Island, SA, (SBK/PST, SSP, SST, SLT, SPR, SMO)
Rd 7. 14-16 Sep 12, QLD Raceway, SA, (SBK/PST, SSP, SST, SLT, SPR, SMO)

Comments are closed.