Fifth consecutive FV8 round win for Thompson

Andrew Thompson heads through Turn 13 at Sandown

Andrew Thompson heads through Turn 13 at Sandown

Andrew Thompson will head to the final round of the Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series at the Sydney Telstra 500 as an almost unbackable title favourite after scoring his fifth consecutive round victory at Sandown today.

The Monster Energy backed Commodore driver sealed the weekend with a lights-to-flag Race 3 win, which came despite heavy pressure from Ford Performance Racing’s new recruit Chaz Mostert.

Thompson now leads the standings by 233 points from David Russell with 300 available at the season finale.

Perkins took third place after a poor start from the front-row saw Mostert sail around the outside of the Supercheap Auto Ford at the first corner.

Scott McLaughlin, David Russell and Paul Morris rounded out the top six, after Morris relegated Rodney Jane from sixth to ninth position with a bold move into Turn 9 on the final lap.

Jane, who expressed his displeasure with Morris earlier in the season after being turned around by the Championship team owner in Townsville, subsequently spun the #67 Commodore at Turn 1 on the slowdown lap.

The race was punctuated by two Safety Car periods, with the first called when Drew Russell bogged his Falcon at Turn 12.

The Safety Car was again required immediately after the restart, where Nick Percat made contact with Tim Blanchard while trying to pass Luke Youlden at Turn 1.

The incident saw both Percat and Blanchard stranded in the sand, while Youlden lost several positions in the confusion.

See below for the full race result

1 Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 15 22:48.0790
2 Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 15 22:48.4942
3 Bob Jane T Marts/Supercheap Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 15 22:49.7467
4 Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 15 22:51.8432
5 Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 22:52.7003
6 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE 15 22:54.0691
7 AC Delco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 15 22:55.2298
8 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 15 22:55.2383
9 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 15 22:55.2738
10 Drill Pro Services/Fuchs/ACS Nick Cassidy Holden Commodore VE 15 22:55.6578
11 Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 15 22:55.8220
12 Team Tom Supporters Club Tom Tweedie Ford Falcon BF 15 22:58.0426
13 R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 15 22:58.5373
14 Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ 15 22:58.9892
15 CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 22:59.3940
16 Simpro Software/Master Elect. Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BF 15 23:00.8045
17 SOLO Racing Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 15 23:01.7332
18 Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 14 23:18.8220
19 Carrington Equip/Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 12 22:59.7014
DNF Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 10 14:29.9297
DNF Shannons-Linde Racing Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE  6  7:36.2687
DNF / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE  5  6:18.5585

Comments are closed.