Rick Kelly scores second 2011 pole at Sandown

Rick Kelly will start Race 25 from pole position

Rick Kelly will start Race 25 from pole position

Rick Kelly has scored his second pole position of the 2011 V8 Supercars Championship at a soggy Norton 360 Sandown Challenge.

The Jack Daniel’s Racing driver traded fastest times with TeamVodafone’s Jamie Whincup throughout the 20 minute session.

Whincup’s 1:20.18s lap was good enough to hold the top spot with 14 minutes remaining, before Kelly improved to 1:20.02s and then 1:19.89s in the closing stages.

Kelly was assured pole when heavy rain returned inside the final four minutes.

Will Davison, Shane van Gisbergen, Tim Slade, David Reynolds, Paul Dumbrell, James Courtney, Steve Owen and Garth Tander rounded out the top 10 at the conclusion of the session.

Having set the fastest time in final practice yesterday, Mark Winterbottom failed to shine in today’s wet conditions and will start Race 25 from 17th position.

At the tail of the fied were Craig Lowndes and Alex Davison, who both complained bitterly of a lack of tyre temperature throughout the session.

See below for the full result

1 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2  1:19.8997
2 TeamVodafone  Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2  1:20.1049 0:00.2052
3 Trading Post FPR Falcon  Will Davison Ford Falcon FG  1:20.5047 0:00.6050
4 SP Tools Racing  Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG  1:20.8218 0:00.9221
5 Lucky 7 Racing  Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG  1:20.8371 0:00.9374
6 Stratco Racing  David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2  1:20.8709 0:00.9712
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team  Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG  1:20.8715 0:00.9718
8 Toll Holden Racing Team  James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2  1:20.8825 0:00.9828
9 VIP Petfoods  Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.0096 0:01.1099
10 Toll Holden Racing Team  Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.0517 0:01.1520
11 Gulf Western Oil Racing  Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.0545 0:01.1548
12 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.2068 0:01.3071
13 Supercheap Auto Racing  Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.2391 0:01.3394
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing  Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.2557 0:01.3560
15 Mother Energy Racing Team  Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG  1:21.4529 0:01.5532
16 Pepsi Max Crew  Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.4619 0:01.5622
17 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon  Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG  1:21.4697 0:01.5700
18 Jim Beam Racing  James Moffat Ford Falcon FG  1:21.4767 0:01.5770
19 Bundaberg Racing  Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.4839 0:01.5842
20 Jim Beam Racing  Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG  1:21.5109 0:01.6112
21 Triple F Racing  Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG  1:21.7235 0:01.8238
22 Team BOC  Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.7452 0:01.8455
23 Fujitsu Racing GRM  Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2  1:21.8672 0:01.9675
24 Wilson Security Racing  Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG  1:22.1046 0:02.2049
25 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing  Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2  1:22.2367 0:02.3370
26 Jana Living Racing  Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2  1:22.3825 0:02.4828
27 TeamVodafone  Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2  1:22.3905 0:02.4908
28 Irwin Racing  Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG  1:23.2293 0:03.3296

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Sandown Race Guide

Comments are closed.