Perkins fends off Mostert for Fujitsu win

Jack Perkins leads Chaz Mostert at Sandown

Jack Perkins leads Chaz Mostert at Sandown

Jack Perkins has fended off a determined Chaz Mostert to win the opening Fujitsu V8 Supercars race of the weekend at the Norton 360 Sandown Challenge.

The Supercheap Auto backed driver blasted into the lead from second on the grid, and was never headed over the 15 lap journey.

Pole-sitter Mostert dropped to fourth thanks to a bad getaway, but was back into second place by the completion of the opening lap thanks to Andrew Thompson and David Russell running wide into Turn 9.

Nick Percat took third on the final lap from David Russell, who suffered with a loose rear-wheel in the closing stages.

Scott McLaughlin defeated Thompson in a battle for fifth, with the Monster Energy Commodore having run as low as eighth after its early off.

Tim Blanchard, David Wall, Tony Bates and Geoff Emery rounded out the top 10.

The Safety Car was called on the opening lap for an incident involving Marcus Zukanovic, Taz Douglas and Paul Morris.

The crash saw Zukanovic clip Douglas after being knocked sideways in front of the pack. Douglas suffered race-ending right-rear damage in the incident, having also collected Morris as he rotated his way towards Turn 1.

Daniel Jilesen failed to start Race 1 following his crash in qualifying this morning.

Race 2 for the Fujitsu V8 Supercars will take place at 1330 local time tomorrow.

See below for the full race result

1 Bob Jane T Marts/Supercheap Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 15 20:23.8031
2 Ford Performance Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG 15 20:24.1734
3 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 15 20:26.8836
4 Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 20:27.5171
5 Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG 15 20:33.3688
6 Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 15 20:33.7519
7 Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 15 20:39.9562
8 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE 15 20:40.1525
9 / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 15 20:42.4726
10 AC Delco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 15 20:44.0003
11 Simpro Software/Master Elect. Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BF 15 20:44.5704
12 Carrington Equip/Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 20:49.3353
13 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 15 20:51.4135
14 Team Tom Supporters Club Tom Tweedie Ford Falcon BF 15 20:52.5565
15 Shannons-Linde Racing Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE 15 20:53.8518
16 CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 20:55.3358
17 Action Racing Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 15 20:55.7179
18 Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 15 21:04.8619
19 SOLO Racing Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 15 21:07.5016
20 Drill Pro Services/Fuchs/ACS Nick Cassidy Holden Commodore VE 15 21:14.4503
21 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 15 21:18.2426
DNF Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE  1  1:35.7490
DNF Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ

See below for’s Sandown Race Guide

Comments are closed.