Dumbrell breaks lap record in final practice

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell has set the fastest ever V8 Supercars lap around the Symmons Plains circuit to end the fourth and final practice session on top of the time sheets.

The Bottle-O Racing Falcon driver jumped to the top of the order with four of the 30 minutes remaining, with a 51.59s knocking long-time pace-setter Fabian Coulthard from the top spot.

Dumbrell was then briefly displaced by Shane van Gisbergen, before answering the SP Tools Falcon driver’s 51.53s effort with an impressive 51.29s on his final lap.

Craig Lowndes ended up splitting the two Fords to be second fastest, while Mark Winterbottom, Coulthard, Jamie Whincup, Garth Tander, Tim Slade, Will Davison and Michael Caruso filled fourth through 10th.

The session ended in drama for Tony D’Alberto, who beached his Wilson Security Racing in the gravel at Turn 4.

See below for the full Practice 4 result

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 0:51.2943  
2 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.5159 0:00.2216
3 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 0:51.5271 0:00.2328
4 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 0:51.5745 0:00.2802
5 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.6070 0:00.3127
6 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.6240 0:00.3297
7 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.6350 0:00.3407
8 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 0:51.6722 0:00.3779
9 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:51.6808 0:00.3865
10 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7078 0:00.4135
11 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7192 0:00.4249
12 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7355 0:00.4412
13 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7429 0:00.4486
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7469 0:00.4526
15 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7475 0:00.4532
16 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 0:51.7583 0:00.4640
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7727 0:00.4784
18 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.7849 0:00.4906
19 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.8190 0:00.5247
20 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 0:51.8881 0:00.5938
21 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.0548 0:00.7605
22 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 0:52.0664 0:00.7721
23 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.1157 0:00.8214
24 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.1546 0:00.8603
25 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 0:52.2218 0:00.9275
26 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 0:52.2978 0:01.0035
27 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 0:52.3679 0:01.0736
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 0:51.2943 0:01.2868

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Symmons Plains Race Guide

Comments are closed.