Hossack sweeps final Sports Sedan round

Darren Hossack took all three wins

Darren Hossack took all three wins

Darren Hossack has taken three dominant race wins in the final round of the 2011 Kerrick Sports Sedan National Series at Phillip Island.

Competing for just the third time this year, the Audi A4 driver led 21 of the 23 racing laps held across the day.

Tony Ricciardello (Alfa GTV), who had already been confirmed as the 2011 series winner prior to the weekend, got the jump on his rival at the start of the final race.

The West Australian would once again finish in second place however, with Hossack taking the lead at the Hayshed on Lap 3 before pulling away to win by almost 15s.

Chev Corvette pilot Dean Camm took third in the round and the series with a trio of fourth place finishes.

The Victorian ran third for much of Race 3, but could do nothing to fend off the charging Dean Randle on the penultimate lap.

After finishing third in Race 1, Randle failed to complete a lap in Race 2 thanks to a mechanical issue – eventually finishing his comeback to the series in sixth for the weekend.

Shane Bradford (Chev Camaro) cemented second in the series by taking fourth in the round, scoring a best finish of third in Race 2.

Bruce Banks had a consistent weekend in his Mazda RX-7, taking an eighth, a fifth and a sixth from the three races to beat Randle to fifth for the round.

Chris Donnelly (Ford Falcon), Lauren Gray (Holden Torana), Michael Robinson (Holden Monaro) and Anthony Cox (Saab 93) rounded out the top 10 for the weekend.

Comments are closed.