Penske confirms unchanged driver line-up

Ryan Briscoe

Ryan Briscoe

Penske has confirmed an unchanged driver line-up for the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series.

The announcement means that Australian Ryan Briscoe has retained his place in the team alongside championship runner-up Will Power and Brazilian Helio Castroneves.

“We are excited to return with a three-car team in 2012,” said Penske president Tim Cindric.

“The combination of Helio, Ryan and Will has been a formidable one on the track and they work very well together as team-mates. Our goal all along has been to continue running three cars and thanks to our terrific partners, we have been able to make everything work from the business side.

“Now, all of our focus will be on developing the new Chevrolet IndyCar and getting ready for a strong return to the track in 2012.”

Briscoe, 30, finished this year’s championship in sixth place with four podium finishes. He did not win a race in 2011.

He finished the 2011 season by partnering Garth Tander in the #2 Toll Holden Racing Team Commodore VE at last month’s Armor All Gold Coast 600.

Comments are closed.