Aussies selected for FIA Young Driver Academy

Jack Le Brocq

Jack Le Brocq

Jack Le Brocq and Brendan Reeves will compete against 28 other young motorsport hopefuls in the FIA’s Young Driver Excellence Academy next year.

Le Brocq (Formula Ford) and Reeves (Rally) are part of the FIA Institute’s announcement where 30 young drivers from 26 different countries will compete for 18 places in the academy programme.

At least three from each of the FIA Institute’s five funding areas will be selected into the final 18. Those regions are North, Central and South America; Western and Northern Europe; Central and Eastern Europe; Middle East and Africa; and Asia and Oceania.

The selection process will be led by former F1 driver Alex Wurz and former World Rally Champion co-driver Robert Reid.

At the selection event in Austria, Wurz and Reid will evaluate fitness and performance, media techniques, team work and psychology.

The finals will take place in Melk, Austria, between November 15-18.

Le Brocq is a dual race winner in this year’s Formula Ford Championship, competing under the CAMS Rising Star banner. After winning the round on the Gold Coast last weekend, he currently sits second in the championship.

Reeves competes in the World Rally Championship Academy, currently running fourth in the series heading into the final round in Wales.

See below for the complete list of finalists.

Marius Aasen, 19, Norway
Mohamed Al Mutawaa, 18, UAE
Klaus Bachler, 20, Austria
Andrea Bate, 22, South Africa
Craig Breen, 21, Ireland
Andrea Caldarelli, 21, Italy
Gabriel Chaves, 18, Columbia
Jonas Gelzinis, 23, Lithuania
Joseph Ghanem, 21, Lebanon
Parth Ghorpade, 18, India
Samin Gomez, 19, Venezuela
Richard Gonda, 17, Slovakia
Ashley Haigh-Smith, 19, South Africa
Yazan Hamadeh, 18, Syrian Arab Republic
Muhammad Nabil Jan Al Jeffri, 17, Malaysia
Michael Klitgaard Christensen, 21, Denmark
Jack Le Brocq, 19, Australia
Michael Lewis, 20, USA
Olivier Lombard, 20, France
Alexander Lynn, 18, UK
Diego Menchaca, 17, Mexico
Jose Andres Montalto, 21, Costa Rica
Thierry Neuville, 23, Belgium
Andrea Nucita, 22, Italy
Ramon Pineiro, 19, Spain
Brendan Reeves, 23, Australia
Pontus Tidemand, 20, Sweden
Timo van der Marel, 22, Holland
Sepp Wiegand, 20, Germany
Lewis Williamson, 21, UK

Comments are closed.