Whincup takes Race 22 pole and cash bonus

Jamie Whincup will start from pole for Race 22 at the Surfers Paradise

Jamie Whincup will start from pole for Race 22 at the Surfers Paradise

Jamie Whincup has taken pole position for Race 22 of the V8 Supercars Championship on the Gold Coast.

The TeamVodafone driver will collect a total of $20,000 from pole position and event sponsor Armor All courtesy of topping both today’s qualifying session and yesterday’s Top 10 Shootout.

Having had his penultimate lap deleted for kerb hopping, Whincup set the 1:10.96s pole time after the chequered flag fell, eclipsing Garth Tander’s previous benchmark by 0.04s.

With co-driver Sebastien Bourdais again set to start the 300km race, Whincup emphasised the extra incentive to jump from fifth to first on his final lap.

“That’s one of the best sessions of the year to go out there through the concrete canyon,” said Whincup.

“We had a good car and I feel that I extracted the most out of it.

“All I was thinking about is that I didn’t want Seb back in fifth position, I wanted him up the front to start the race.”

Tander had topped the sheets for the majority of the session, twice improving his time during the final 15 minutes before failing to improve by just 0.05s on his final run.

Mark Winterbottom ended the session third, despite shooting briefly ahead of Tander with three minutes to run, while team-mate Will Davison was forced to settle for fourth when he overshot the first chicane on his last attempt.

Craig Lowndes, Steve Owen, Greg Murphy, Lee Holdsworth, James Moffat and David Reynolds rounded out the top 10.

Kerb hopping was again the talk of the session, with the troublesome Turn 2 bollard lasting less than 15 minutes. V8 Supercars and key team personnel will holding a meeting after the session in order to discuss the on-going issue.

Race 22 of the V8 Supercars Championship will get underway at 1340 local time.

See below for the full session result

1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:10.9615
2 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.0039 0:00.0424
3 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:11.1308 0:00.1693
4 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:11.2799 0:00.3184
5 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.2923 0:00.3308
6 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.3174 0:00.3559
7 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.3727 0:00.4112
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.3868 0:00.4253
9 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:11.4355 0:00.4740
10 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.4640 0:00.5025
11 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.4956 0:00.5341
12 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:11.5216 0:00.5601
13 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:11.5628 0:00.6013
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.5643 0:00.6028
15 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.5780 0:00.6165
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.6121 0:00.6506
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.6213 0:00.6598
18 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:11.6561 0:00.6946
19 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:11.6963 0:00.7348
20 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:11.7003 0:00.7388
21 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:11.7592 0:00.7977
22 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:11.8357 0:00.8742
23 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.8466 0:00.8851
24 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.9921 0:01.0306
25 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.1766 0:01.2151
26 Westrac Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:12.3196 0:01.3581
27 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.4946 0:01.5331
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.6402 0:01.6787

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Armor All Gold Coast 600 Race Guide

Comments are closed.