Tander on provisional pole in mixed conditions

Garth Tander has taken pole for Race 21 of the V8 Supercars Championship

Garth Tander has taken pole for Race 21 of the V8 Supercars Championship

Garth Tander has taken provisional pole position for Race 21 of the Armor All Gold Coast 600 in a rain affected qualifying session in Surfers Paradise.

The Toll Holden Racing Team driver put down two quick laps early to sit at the top of the times when rain arrived after just eight minutes.

The weather saw all 28 cars return to the pits, and ensured no one could improve on their early times during the remaining 22 minutes.

Steve Owen (VIP Petfoods Racing) was just 0.067s behind Tander to be second fastest, while Jamie Whincup (TeamVodafone), Alex Davison (IRWIN Racing) and Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing) filled third through fifth.

James Courtney (Toll Holden Racing Team), Will Davison (Trading Post FPR), Shane van Gisbergen (SP Tools Racing), Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) and James Moffat (Jim Beam Racing) complete the top 10 the shootout field.

The second TeamVodafone entry of Craig Lowndes/Andy Priaulx will start down in 15th position. A mechanical problem forced Lowndes to pit on his out-lap in the 30 minute session, hampering his ability to set a quick early time.

Mark Winterbottom, who set the pace in Practice 1 yesterday morning, was also badly affected by the onset of rain. The Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon will line-up 17th for this afternoon’s race.

The Top 10 Shootout is set to take place at 1050 local time.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander  Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.7238
2 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen  Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.7909  0:00.0671
3 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup  Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.8651  0:00.1413
4 Irwin Racing Alex Davison  Ford Falcon FG 1:11.9228  0:00.1990
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth  Holden Commodore VE2 1:11.9527  0:00.2289
6 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.0940  0:00.3702
7 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison  Ford Falcon FG 1:12.1187  0:00.3949
8 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen  Ford Falcon FG 1:12.2082  0:00.4844
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.2888  0:00.5650
10 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat  Ford Falcon FG 1:12.4146  0:00.6908
11 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.4327  0:00.7089
12 Stratco Racing David Reynolds  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.4927  0:00.7689
13 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.5084  0:00.7846
14 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.5576  0:00.8338
15 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.6454  0:00.9216
16 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb  Ford Falcon FG 1:12.8150  0:01.0912
17 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom  Ford Falcon FG 1:12.8154  0:01.0916
18 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.9056  0:01.1818
19 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff  Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.9841  0:01.2603
20 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson  Ford Falcon FG 1:13.0016  0:01.2778
21 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler  Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.4378  0:01.7140
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly  Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.5354  0:01.8116
23 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell  Ford Falcon FG 1:13.5363  0:01.8125
24 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade  Ford Falcon FG 1:13.5540  0:01.8302
25 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto  Ford Falcon FG 1:13.6604  0:01.9366
26 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna  Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.8961  0:02.1723
27 Westrac Racing Dean Fiore  Ford Falcon FG 1:14.0163  0:02.2925
28 Team Boc Jason Bright  Holden Commodore VE2 1:17.0165  0:05.2927

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Armor All Gold Coast 600 Race Guide

Comments are closed.