TeamVodafone imports dominate Practice 2

Bourdais with lead driver Jamie Whincup

Bourdais with lead driver Jamie Whincup

TeamVodafone imports Sebastien Bourdais and Andy Priaulx have dominated the opening co-drivers only practice session for the Armor All Gold Coast 600.

Bourdais and Priaulx swapped the top time throughout the 40 minutes, with the Frenchman putting down a best of 1:13.04s with five minutes remaining to be 0.33s faster than the Briton.

Bourdais was characteristically precise around the Surfers Paradise Street Circuit, recording just one kerb hopping infringement compared to 11 for his team-mate.

Australian Ryan Briscoe was third fastest with a 1:13.55s effort – the Penske Racing IndyCar driver hustling the #2 Toll Holden Racing Team hard in a session that included a visit down the Turn 11 escape road.

Briscoe narrowly held bragging rights over fellow Walkinshaw Commodore driver Patrick Long (#61 Bundaberg Racing), while Oliver Gavin was the fastest of the Kelly Racing co-drivers, emerging fifth in the Pepsi Max backed Commodore.

Gavin briefly displaced the TeamVodafone cars at the top of the times at the midway point of the session before the pace increased in the closing stages.

The Turn 14 hairpin leading onto the front-straight proved the most troublesome for the internationals, with Richard Lyons (Orrcon Steel FPR) the first to nose into the outside tyre wall after just six minutes had been run.

Fabrizio Giovanardi (Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing), Marino Franchitti (Gulf Western Oil Racing) and Jorg Bergmeister (Jack Daniel’s Racing) would repeat the Irishman’s mistake before the session was complete.

Tonio Liuzzi, the only current Formula One driver in the field, ended the 40 minutes at the foot of the time sheets after a difficult session that included brushing a tyre wall with the right-front corner of the Wilson Security Racing Falcon during his first flying lap.

Practice 2 got underway a full 35 minutes after its scheduled 1135 start time following a crash by Jeremy Gray in Carrera Cup practice at the Turn 6/7/8/9/10 chicane that required a concrete block to be replaced.

Practice 3 is set to commence at 1335 local time.

See below for the full session result

1 TeamVodafone Sebastien Bourdais (FRA) Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.9927
2 TeamVodafone Andy Priaulx (GBR) Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.3191 0:00.3264
3 Toll Holden Racing Team Ryan Briscoe (AUS) Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.5494 0:00.5567
4 Bundaberg Racing Patrick Long (USA) Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.7123 0:00.7196
5 Pepsi Max Crew Oliver Gavin (GBR) Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.7225 0:00.7298
6 Jack Daniel’s Racing Richard Westbrook (GBR) Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.7344 0:00.7417
7 Toll Holden Racing Team Darren Turner (GBR) Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.8733 0:00.8806
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Augusto Farfus Jr (BRA) Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.8885 0:00.8958
9 Stratco Racing Alex Tagliani (CAN) Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.0651 0:01.0724
10 Lucky 7 Racing Helio Castroneves (BRA) Ford Falcon FG 1:14.1887 0:01.1960
11 Jana Living Racing Allan Simonsen (DNK) Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.3142 0:01.3215
12 Trading Post FPR Falcon Mika Salo (FIN) Ford Falcon FG 1:14.3707 0:01.3780
13 Westrac Racing Gianni Morbidelli (ITA) Ford Falcon FG 1:14.6487 0:01.6560
14 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Richard Lyons (GBR) Ford Falcon FG 1:14.7646 0:01.7719
15 Mother Energy Racing Team Gil de Ferran (BRA) Ford Falcon FG 1:14.8979 0:01.9052
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Jan Magnussen (DNK) Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.0106 0:02.0179
17 SP Tools Racing Emanuele Pirro (ITA) Ford Falcon FG 1:15.0240 0:02.0313
18 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Fabrizio Giovanardi ITA Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.0586 0:02.0659
19 Jim Beam Racing Joey Hand (USA) Ford Falcon FG 1:15.2316 0:02.2389
20 Irwin Racing Marc Lieb (DEU) Ford Falcon FG 1:15.2903 0:02.2976
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing Jorg Bergmeister (DEU) Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.3565 0:02.3638
22 Fujitsu Racing GRM Simon Pagenaud (FRA) Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.3799 0:02.3872
23 Jim Beam Racing Dirk Mueller (DEU) Ford Falcon FG 1:15.4458 0:02.4531
24 The Bottle-O Racing Team Christian Klien (AUT) Ford Falcon FG 1:15.4818 0:02.4891
25 Team Boc Stephane Sarrazin (FRA) Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.7719 0:02.7792
26 Gulf Western Oil Racing Marino Franchitti (GBR) Holden Commodore VE2 1:15.7936 0:02.8009
27 VIP Petfoods Boris Said (USA) Holden Commodore VE2 1:16.6273 0:03.6346
28 Wilson Security Racing Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA) Ford Falcon FG 1:16.7564 0:03.7637

Follow @speedcafe on Twitter and like Speedcafe on Facebook

See below for’s Armor All Gold Coast 600 Race Guide

Comments are closed.