Back to back for titles for Pierce Lehane

Pierce Lehane

Pierce Lehane on his way to claiming back to back championships. Pic: AF Images/Budd

Pierce Lehane added his name to Australian karting history books by becoming the third driver in the history of the CIK Stars of Karting Series presented by Castrol EDGE to win back-to-back Pro Junior (KF3) Championships at Newcastle on Sunday.

The CRG driver joins IndyCar star Ryan Briscoe (1995/1996) and Kristian Lindbom (2003/2004) in the illustrious back-to-back club.

Second place in the final 25-lap final was enough for the CRG driver to claim the Jon Targett trophy ahead of round winner Joseph Mawson.  Jake Coleman finished third for the round.

“To put my name on the trophy two times in a row is something that I’ll never forget in my career, especially when you look at the calibre of drivers that have won this title over the years,” said Lehane.

“The racing has been really intense this year, even today when I knew that all I had to do was finish the second final and I was the champion again I felt some of that pressure.

“It was pretty close racing all weekend, the younger guys have really been stepping it up in the second half of the series and with a few of the older drivers moving into seniors next year I think they will really shine next year.”

In Pro Light (KF1) Matthew Waters and Aidan Wright shared the spoils in the two 25-lap main events.  However, a third and a fourth place finish in the second race was enough for Jake Spencer to etch his name on the James Courtney trophy.

“It really hasn’t sunk in that I’ve joined the likes of Mark Winterbottom and Jamie Whincup who have won this trophy before, it’s an amazing feeling,” said Spencer.

“Honestly, I didn’t think I could do it – I thought Cian (Fothergill) was going to win the race and if he won I had to finish second to get the championship.

“The main tactic entering the final race was to keep Cian in sight and it turned out I had more pace than him.”

The battle for the Pro Gearbox (KZ2) title went down to the wire with Tyler Greenbury winning the championship by a mere six points over Kel Treseder.  The pair finished on the podium in the last race, however, it was Jason Pringle who broke through for his maiden round win.

There was drama all throughout Sunday’s Pro Gearbox action with front row combatants Dave Sera and Kel Treseder being given a ten-second penalty for a starting infringement in the opening race of the day.

Greenbury led the majority of the final race before being passed by both Pringle and Treseder in the closing stages.  Third place was enough for the Intrepid driver to secure the title by six points and leave Treseder ruing the jumped start in the opening race of the day.

As a part of their prize for winning the championship in their respective categories, each driver will also receive $10,000 for them to compete in an overseas CIK-FIA accredited event.

Presented by Castrol EDGE
Round 5 of 5

Hosted by the North Shore Kart Club at Newcastle

Pro Light (KF1)
1. Aidan Wright (Cairns, QLD)
2. Jason Hryniuk (Castle Hill, NSW)
3. Adam Hughes (Mentone, Vic)
4. Grant Smith (Patterson Lakes, Vic)
5. Jake Spencer (Wantirna, Vic)

Pro Gearbox (KZ2)
1. Jason Pringle (Essendon, Vic)
2. Kel Treseder (Bundaberg, QLD)
3. Tyler Greenbury (Tooowoomba, QLD)
4. Kyle Ensbey (Sunshine Coast, QLD)
5. Scott Taylor (Athelstone, SA)

Pro Junior (KF3)
1. Joseph Mawson (Hinchenbrook, NSW)
2. Pierce Lehane (Castle Hill, NSW)
3. Jake Coleman (Glenmore Park, NSW)
4. Brock Plumb (Forrest Lake, QLD)
5. Joseph Burton-Harris (Rouse Hill, NSW)

Presented by Castrol EDGE

Final Championship Standings

1. Jake Spencer 329
2. Cian Fothergill 318
3. Matthew Waters 284
4. Grant Smith 279
5. Adam Hughes 261

1. Tyler Greenbury 302
2. Kel Treseder 296
3. Jason Pringle 295
4. Matthew Wall 277
5. Scott Taylor 270

1. Pierce Lehane 372
2. Joseph Mawson 354
3. Jake Klarich 319
4. Jake Coleman 306
5. Brock Plumb 299

Comments are closed.