Thompson extends points lead with win

Andrew Thompson

Andrew Thompson

Andrew Thompson has extended his Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series lead after a largely uneventful opening race of the weekend at Bathurst.

The Monster Commodore driver led every one of the 14 laps from pole position, pulling a 1.5s advantage at the end of the opening tour before easing away to win by 3.4s.

Russell ended the race a similarly comfortable 2.3s ahead of Jack Perkins, who recovered well after falling from second on the grid to fifth Lap 1 thanks to a poor start.

Perkins overhauled Nick Percat for third at Griffins Bend with three laps remaining, while Paul Morris, Tim Blanchard, Rodney Jane, David Wall, Marcus Zukanovic and Scott McLaughlin rounded out the top 10.

A battle involving Wall, Zukanovic, McLaughlin, Daniel Jilesen and Chaz Mostert provided the race’s main entertainment, with Wood and Zukanovic both moving through the pack having qualified outside the top 10.

The battle between Jilesen and Mostert ended in contact at Forrest Elbow – the Simpro Falcon tagging the Greg Murphy Racing Commodore as the former squirmed down the inside under brakes.

While Mostert continued largely unaffected, Jilesen lost initial ground having activated the pitlane speed limiter during his half-spin, before retiring on the penultimate lap.

Jilesen’s team-mates Geoff Emery and Tony Bates made door-to-door contact with each other during the race, after Emery had spun wildly through the left-hander at The Chase while holding down 13th.

Irishman Richard Cregan also endured a difficult race – pulling off the circuit at the entry to McPhillamy Park with broken rear-rear suspension.

Taz Douglas, Ash Walsh and Drew Russell were all non-starters, with the two Falcon drivers having crashed heavily in qualifying this morning.

See below for the full race result

1 Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 30:34.1391 2:10.2706
2 Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 30:37.5206 2:10.6210
3 Supercheap / Bob Jane T Marts Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 30:39.8138 2:10.5401
4 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 30:43.4278 2:10.4307
5 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE 30:48.2399 2:11.0984
6 Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 30:55.2450 2:11.3128
7 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 31:01.2030 2:11.7072
8 Wilson Security Team McGrath David Wall Holden Commodore VE 31:05.3208 2:11.8830
9 Midway Concrete&Garden Supply Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 31:10.4662 2:12.1462
10 Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon BF 31:13.2920 2:12.4981
11 Simpro Software/Master Elect. Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon BF 31:13.9155 2:12.1917
12 GARMIN Tom Tweedie Ford Falcon BF 31:17.4280 2:12.9594
13 CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 31:31.0342 2:12.9915
14 ACDelco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 31:41.8071 2:13.1753
15 Drill Pro Services/EarthEx James Brock Holden Commodore VE 31:44.6103 2:14.1794
16 / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 31:45.1260 2:13.6254
17 Freestones Roadhaven Paul Freestone Ford Falcon BF 31:56.7006 2:15.1485
18 Warrin Mining Volvo Const Eq. Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 32:01.4288 2:16.0563
19 Bisley Workwear Colin Sieders Ford Falcon BF 32:04.9711 2:15.6052
20 SOLO / NCSS Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 32:19.4768 2:16.2351
21 Flexi Staff Todd Fiore Ford Falcon BF 32:21.5351 2:16.1640
22 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 32:32.3889 2:17.6022
DNF R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 32:56.9913 2:12.4674
DNF Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 15:56.8022 2:13.3657
DNF Voight Constructing Steve Voight Holden Commodore VE  5:05.9456 2:36.1020

Comments are closed.