Tander takes provisional pole at Bathurst

Garth Tander has taken provisional pole at Mount Panorama

Garth Tander, pictured here yesterday, has taken provisional pole at Mount Panorama

Garth Tander has taken provisional pole for the 2011 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The Toll Holden Racing Team Commodore driver displaced TeamVodafone’s Jamie Whincup from the top of the order by seting a 2:07.66s lap will less than two minutes remaining.

Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom slotted himself between the Holden drivers with a 2:07.72s effort immediately after Tander completed his lap.

Winterbottom then went fastest to the end of Sector 2 on his following circuit, but could do no better than 2:07.77s after a lock-up at The Chase.

Whincup’s best time was set with more than 10 minutes remaining, as the championship leader proved unable to extract more speed from his Commodore upon returning to the track for the final eight minutes.

Third place still marked an impressive recovery for the #88 team after Whincup crashed the car in Practice 5, merely three hours prior to the commencement of qualifying.

Kelly Racing was the late surprise of the session, with David Reynolds and Greg Murphy jumping into the top five after the chequered flag fell.

Reynolds was the only driver able to join Tander, Winterbottom and Whincup in the 2:07s bracket – a remarkable effort after the Stratco Commodore required an engine change following issues in Practice 4 and 5.

Craig Lowndes, James Courtney, Lee Holdsworth, Shane van Gisbergen and Steve Owen rounded out the top 10 ahead of the Shootout tomorrow.

Van Gisbergen’s threat for pole evaporated with a mistake on the entry to The Dipper on his final lap, moments before Jason Bargwanna crashed heavily at the same point of the circuit.

The performances of Reynolds and Murphy were in stark contrast to that of the sister Jack Daniel’s Racing entries, with Rick and Todd Kelly ending the 40 minutes 16th and 19th respectively.

Jason Bright was also surprisingly off the pace in 18th, while Steven Johnson was an equally disappointing 24th.

See below for the full qualifying result

1 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 2:07.6640
2 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 2:07.7187 0:00.0547
3 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 2:07.7408 0:00.0768
4 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 2:07.8371 0:00.1731
5 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 2:07.9126 0:00.2486
6 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.0024 0:00.3384
7 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.0035 0:00.3395
8 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 2:08.0955 0:00.4315
9 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.1411 0:00.4771
10 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 2:08.1982 0:00.5342
11 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 2:08.2443 0:00.5803
12 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 2:08.2887 0:00.6247
13 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.0942 0:00.4302*
14 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.4464 0:00.7824
15 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 2:08.4721 0:00.8081
16 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.5250 0:00.8610
17 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 2:08.6631 0:00.9991
18 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.6681 0:01.0041
19 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.7271 0:01.0631
20 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.7746 0:01.1106
21 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.1155 0:01.4515
22 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.1503 0:01.4863
23 Wilson Security Team Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 2:09.1948 0:01.5308
24 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 2:09.3076 0:01.6436
25 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.3328 0:01.6688
26 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 2:09.4017 0:01.7377
27 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.4020 0:01.7380
28 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 2:10.0191 0:02.3551
29 Shannons Mars Racing Grant Denyer Holden Commodore VE2 2:11.7371 0:04.0731

*Lee Holdsworth was handed a five place penalty for failing to present his car for weighing at the conclusion of qualifying

Comments are closed.