McConville fastest on dry Mount Panorama

The #1 Toll Holden Racing Team Commodore

The #1 Toll Holden Racing Team Commodore

The 2011 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 field has had its first taste of slick tyres in this morning’s co-driver only Practice 4 session.

The Toll Holden Racing team’s Cameron McConville put in two flyers at the conclusion of the session, first undercutting previous pace-setter Steve Richards by 0.37s with a 2:10.13s, before moving the marker down to 2:09.88s after the chequered flag fell.

Mark Skaife also knocked off the Ford Performance Racing Falcon driver in the dying moments, with his 2:10.45s effort good enough for second.

Richards held on for third, while Greg Ritter (Fujitsu Racing) and Dale Wood (Wilson Security Racing) rounded out the top five.

Originally scheduled to last 45 minutes, the session was extended by six minutes following a red flag period for a stranded Tim Blanchard.

“Tim just had a little oil drama and decided to pull off, it’s nothing major,” said the car’s regular driver David Reynolds.

The red flag set up a frantic final nine minutes, with the fastest time to that point, a 2:12.78s set by Andrew Thompson, quickly eclipsed by David Brabham (2:11.98s) and Thompson again (2:10.77s) before Richards and eventually McConville took control.

Shane Price’s Jana Living Racing entry joined Blanchard in ended the session in an immobile state, with the third Brad Jones Racing entry parked on pit straight having lost oil pressure.

The session had started with several cars on wet tyres, while others, including Richard Lyons, Ritter, Thompson, Allan Simonsen, Daniel Gaunt, Michael Patrizi, Blanchard and Jack Perkins, did not venture out until slicks were required.

Practice 5, for all drivers, will take place at 11:00am.

See below for the full session result

­1 Toll Holden Racing Team Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.8765
2 TeamVodafone Mark Skaife Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.4522 0:00.5757
3 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 2:10.5029 0:00.6264
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM Greg Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.6550 0:00.7785
5 Wilson Security Team Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 2:10.7478 0:00.8713
6 TeamVodafone Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.7693 0:00.8928
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Marcus Marshall Holden Commodore VE2 2:10.8620 0:00.9855
8 Toll Holden Racing Team Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 2:11.1140 0:01.2375
9 Trading Post FPR Falcon Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG 2:11.2699 0:01.3934
10 Bundaberg Racing Craig Baird Holden Commodore VE2 2:11.3100 0:01.4335
11 Irwin Racing David Brabham Ford Falcon FG 2:11.3955 0:01.5190
12 Supercheap Auto Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE2 2:11.4681 0:01.5916
13 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 2:11.6030 0:01.7265
14 SP Tools Racing John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 2:11.6543 0:01.7778
15 Jana Living Racing Shane Price Holden Commodore VE2 2:11.8058 0:01.9293
16 Jack Daniel’s Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 2:11.8823 0:02.0058
17 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 2:11.9817 0:02.1052
18 Pepsi Max Crew Allan Simonsen Holden Commodore VE2 2:12.0772 0:02.2007
19 Jim Beam Racing David Besnard Ford Falcon FG 2:12.1360 0:02.2595
20 Team Boc Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 2:12.1612 0:02.2847
21 Lucky 7 Racing Daniel Gaunt Ford Falcon FG 2:12.3021 0:02.4256
22 Triple F Racing Michael Patrizi Ford Falcon FG 2:12.3272 0:02.4507
23 Gulf Western Oil Racing Nathan Pretty Holden Commodore VE2 2:12.9161 0:03.0396
24 Jim Beam Racing Matthew Halliday Ford Falcon FG 2:13.0862 0:03.2097
25 Mother Energy Racing Team Richard Lyons Ford Falcon FG 2:13.4138 0:03.5373
26 Jack Daniel’s Racing Owen Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 2:13.4833 0:03.6068
27 VIP Petfoods Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 2:14.0246 0:04.1481
28 Shannons Mars Racing Cameron Waters Holden Commodore VE2 2:14.7580 0:04.8815
29 Stratco Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 2:18.0941 0:08.2176

See below for’s Bathurst Race Guide

Comments are closed.