Mostert makes a statement in wet practice

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert

Reigning Australian Formula Ford Champion Chaz Mostert has dominated a wet opening Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series practice session at Mount Panorama.

The 19-year-old’s best effort of 2:33.57s proved 2.9s quicker than the next fastest time, set by Sonic Motor Racing Services driver Jack Perkins.

Nick Percat ended the 40 minute session third fastest, from fellow Holden drivers Taz Douglas, Paul Morris and James Brock.

Mostert set the benchmark from the very opening minutes of the session, with an early 2:35.60s lap ensuring the Simpro backed Falcon was 4.5s clear at the top of the time sheets as the halfway mark approached.

With track conditions improving slightly as the session unfolded, Percat cut the gap to 1.3s with 10 minutes remaining, before Mostert’s 2:33.57s lap again moved the teenager out of reach.

Voight's ex-PWR VE

Voight's ex-PWR VE

Perkins split the pair with a 2:33.52s effort inside the final five minutes, before a red flag ended the session two minutes early.

Fujitsu Series leader Andrew Thompson, who will team up with Jamie Whincup for Sunday’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, ended Practice 1 in eighth position – 6.6s adrift of Mostert.

Two red flags bookended the session, with a spill for Steve Voight causing significant damage to his ex-Paul Weel Racing Commodore VE, which is being run for the first time this weekend by Matt Stone Racing.

Practice 2 for the Fujitsu V8 Supercars will take place at 16:10 local time.

See below for the full Practice 1 result

1 Simpro Software/Master Elect. Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon BF 2:33.5741
2 Supercheap / Bob Jane T Marts Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 2:36.5197 0:02.9456
3 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 2:36.8967 0:03.3226
4 Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ 2:36.9633 0:03.3892
5 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE 2:38.9600 0:05.3859
6 Drill Pro Services/EarthEx James Brock Holden Commodore VE 2:39.0351 0:05.4610
7 Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 2:39.3841 0:05.8100
8 Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 2:40.1956 0:06.6215
9 Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 2:40.2918 0:06.7177
10 Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon BF 2:41.5617 0:07.9876
11 Carrington Eq/Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 2:41.6036 0:08.0295
12 Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 2:42.0710 0:08.4969
13 Midway Concrete&Garden Supply Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 2:42.9014 0:09.3273
14 Simpro Software/Master Elect. Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF 2:43.1399 0:09.5658
15 SOLO / NCSS Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 2:43.2123 0:09.6382
16 Wilson Security Team McGrath David Wall Holden Commodore VE 2:44.9382 0:11.3641
17 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 2:45.4302 0:11.8561
18 CEG Rentals/Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 2:45.9775 0:12.4034
19 Bisley Workwear Colin Sieders Ford Falcon BF 2:46.2042 0:12.6301
20 / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 2:48.1849 0:14.6108
21 Warrin Mining Volvo Const Eq. Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 2:48.3987 0:14.8246
22 Egglestone Motorsport Gavin Bullas Ford Falcon BF 2:48.5930 0:15.0189
23 ACDelco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 2:48.7614 0:15.1873
24 R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 2:48.9961 0:15.4220
25 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 2:49.3909 0:15.8168
26 Freestones Roadhaven Paul Freestone Ford Falcon BF 2:52.5097 0:18.9356
27 Voight Constructing Steve Voight Holden Commodore VE 2:52.5431 0:18.9690
28 Flexi Staff Todd Fiore Ford Falcon BF 3:07.2981 0:33.7240
29 Team Tom Supporters Club Tom Tweedie Ford Falcon BF 6:14.1665 3:40.5924

See below for’s Bathurst Race Guide

Comments are closed.