Carpenter wins as Power strikes trouble

Ed Carpenter won by a nose

Ed Carpenter won by a nose

Ed Carpenter has taken his maiden IndyCar Series race victory in the Kentucky 300 as Dario Franchitti jumped to a clear lead in the points standings.

While Franchitti lost the race to Carpenter’s Sarah Fisher Racing entry by 0.0098s, the Scot turned an 11 point deficit into an 17 point advantage over title rival Will Power heading into the final race in Las Vegas.

Power led the opening portion of the race, but struck disaster  in the form of Dreyer & Reinbold driver Ana Beatriz at his first pitstop on Lap 49.

Beatriz had been released into the path of the Penske Racing entry, causing significant damage to Power’s car. After several stops for repairs, the Australian eventually finished 19th.

The top eight cars were separated by less than 1s at the end of the race, with Scott Dixon (Ganassi), James Hinchcliffe (Newman/Haas), Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti), Oriol Servia (Newman/Haas), Wade Cunningham (Sam Schmidt) and Ryan Briscoe (Penske) filling third through eighth.

Dixon’s third place was enough for the Kiwi to wrap up the A.J. Foyt Oval Trophy.

Carpenter was not surprisingly stoked after the race, having won for the first time in his 113th start.

“It felt way better than I ever thought it was going to feel,” said Carpenter.

“Dario raced me hard and clean. I knew we had the better car but in the second or third step.

“It was weird race because my visor was falling off in one of the steps and we had all sorts of stuff going on, the team made changes all day to the car … just an awesome day.”

Power meanwhile was philosophical after the race, refusing to be upset by the unfortunate situation.

“They just sent her into me – there’s nothing I could do about that one,” said Power.

“We had the quickest car, an unbelievably fast car, but after that happened it tore a hole in the side pod, we lost 4mph and that was that.

“It was just a fight to hang on to the back of the field, the car was still handling well but it had no speed – there was so much drag it was just impossible.

“That’s racing, we will just come back at Vegas. It is what it is, we can’t do anything about it now.”

Power and Beatriz were not the only drivers to endure pitlane drama. The races of Marco Andretti and Alex Lloyd ended with pitlane contact as the full-course yellow waved for Simona de Silvestro, who had lost control of her HVM Dallara while exiting her pit bay – hitting a KV Racing team member.

JR Hildebrand meanwhile slid through his pit box and ran into his own crew – taking himself out of contention for a top five finish.

The 2011 Izod IndyCar Series season concludes at Las Vegas on October 16.

See below for the full result

 1 Ed Carpenter Sarah Fisher 1h42m02.7825s
 2 Dario Franchitti Ganassi     + 0.0098s
 3 Scott Dixon Ganassi     + 0.1048s
 4 James Hinchcliffe Newman/Haas     + 0.3007s
 5 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti     + 0.4040s
 6 Oriol Servia Newman/Haas     + 0.6806s
 7 Wade Cunningham Sam Schmidt     + 0.7020s
 8 Ryan Briscoe Penske     + 0.7895s
 9 Buddy Rice Panther     + 1.0011s
10 Danica Patrick Andretti     + 1.0076s
11 Townsend Bell Dreyer & Reinbold     + 1.1767s
12 Graham Rahal Ganassi     + 1.2320s
13 Charlie Kimball Ganassi     + 1.7795s
14 Dan Wheldon Sam Schmidt     + 2.0668s
15 Takuma Sato KV     + 2.1166s
16 Vitor Meira Foyt     + 2.4294s
17 Tony Kanaan KV     + 3.0101s
18 Mike Conway Andretti     + 3.4607s
19 Will Power Penske     + 6.4970s
20 JR Hildebrand Panther       + 1 lap
21 James Jakes Dale Coyne      + 2 laps
22 Pippa Mann Rahal Letterman Lanigan      + 3 laps
23 EJ Viso KV      + 8 laps
DNF Ana Beatriz Dreyer & Reinbold      165 laps
DNF Simona de Silvestro HVM      141 laps
DNF Alex Lloyd Dale Coyne      140 laps
DNF Marco Andretti Andretti      140 laps
DNF Dillon Battistini Conquest      124 laps

See below for the updated championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Dario Franchitti 573
2 Will Power 555
3 Scott Dixon 518
4 Oriol Servia 425
5 Tony Kanaan 366
6 Ryan Briscoe 364
7 Ryan Hunter-Reay 347
8 Marco Andretti 337
9 Graham Rahal 320
10 Danica Patrick 314
11 Helio Castroneves 312
12 James Hinchcliffe 302
13 Takuma Sato 297
14 JR Hildebrand 296
15 Alex Tagliani 296
16 Vitor Meira 287
17 Mike Conway 260
18 E.J. Viso 241
19 Charlie Kimball 233
20 Simona de Silvestro 225
21 Ana Beatriz 212
22 James Jakes 189
23 Sebastien Boudais 188
24 Justin Wilson 183
25 Sebastian Saavedra 178
26 Ed Carpenter 185
27 Alex Lloyd 85
28 Dan Wheldon 75
29 Paul Tracy 68
30 Raphael Matos 67
31 Simon Pagenaud 56
32 Tomas Scheckter 52
33 Martin Plowman 49
34 Buddy Rice 42
35 Townsend Bell 40
36 Giorgio Pantano 37
37 Wade Cunningham 36
38 Pippa Mann 32
39 Bertrand Baguette 30
40 Jay Howard 27
41 Davey Hamilton 26
42 John Andretti 16
43 Hideki Mutoh 12
44 Dillon Battistini 10
45 Ho-Pin Tung 10
46 Joao Paulo de Oliveira 10
47 Scott Speed 0
48 Bruno Junqueira 0

Comments are closed.