Van Gisbergen tops L&H 500 morning warm-up

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen in the SP Tools Falcon

Shane van Gisbergen has topped this morning’s 20 minute warm-up session as teams make final preparations for the L&H 500 at Phillip Island.

The SP Tools Ford, which will start the weekend’s main race from second on the grid, ended the session 0.25s faster than the Jamie Whincup/Andrew Thompson TeamVodafone Commodore.

Van Gisbergen survived a scrape with Craig Lowndes in the second of the Vodafone cars at the crest of Lukey Height late in the session.

The James Moffat/Matthew Halliday (Jim Beam Racing) and Michael Caruso/Marcus Marshall (Fujitsu Racing) entries also made minor contact during the session – trading paint at Turn 4.

While run under sunny skies, teams and drivers had to adjust to significantly different conditions this morning, with the wind having swung 180 degrees since yesterday – now providing a headwind on the front straight.

The L&H 500 will kick off at 13:35, with the majority of cars set to be started by their non-regular drivers.

Tyre wear continues to be the talk of the paddock at Phillip Island – potentially altering the conventional three stop strategies.

Lap times blew out by approximately two seconds across the 14 lap sprints yesterday, and even higher degradation rates can be expected this afternoon if the predicted higher temperatures come to fruition.

See below for the full warm-up order

1 SP Tools Racing S.Van Gisbergen/J.McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 1:34.6568
2 TeamVodafone J.Whincup/A.Thompson Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.9078
3 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.2281
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM L.Holdsworth/G.Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.2857
5 TeamVodafone C.Lowndes/M.Skaife Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.3782
6 Jim Beam Racing J.Moffat/M.Halliday Ford Falcon FG 1:35.4160
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team P.Dumbrell/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG 1:35.4405
8 Toll Holden Racing Team G.Tander/N.Percat Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.6685
9 Lucky 7 Racing T.Slade/D.Gaunt Ford Falcon FG 1:35.6946
10 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon M.Winterbotto.Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:35.7031
11 Irwin Racing A.Davison/D.Brabham Ford Falcon FG 1:35.8187
12 Team Boc J.Bright/A.Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.9233
13 Triple F Racing D.Fiore/M.Patrizi Ford Falcon FG 1:36.2828
14 Jana Living Racing J.Bargwanna/S.Price Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.3023
15 Stratco Racing D.Reynolds/T.Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.3229
16 Trading Post FPR Falcon W.Davison/L.Youlden Ford Falcon FG 1:36.3715
17 VIP Petfoods S.Owen/P.Morris Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.3804
18 Jack Daniel’s Racing R.Kelly/O.Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.4053
19 Supercheap Auto Racing R.Ingall/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.5124
20 Toll Holden Racing Team J.Courtney/C.McConville Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.5665
21 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing K.Reindler/D.Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.7008
22 Fujitsu Racing GRM M.Caruso/M.Marshall Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.7779
23 Jack Daniel’s Racing T.Kelly/David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.9922
24 Pepsi Max Crew G.Murphy/A.Simonsen Holden Commodore VE2 1:37.1725
25 Gulf Western Oil Racing W.Luff/N.Pretty Holden Commodore VE2 1:37.3050
26 Mother Energy Racing Team J.Webb/R.Lyons Ford Falcon FG 1:37.3108
27 Wilson Security Racing D.Wood/T.Douglas Ford Falcon FG 1:37.3265
28 Jim Beam Racing S.Johnson/D.Besnard Ford Falcon FG 1:37.3465

See’s Phillip Island Race Guide below

Comments are closed.