Will Davison takes Driver A Qualifying Race

Will Davison led from start to finish

Will Davison led from start to finish

Will Davison has taken a lights-to-flag victory in the Driver A Qualifying Race at Phillip Island.

With fellow front-row start Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone) making a poor star, Davison shot from pole position to lead Andrew Thompson (TeamVodafone) by 1.3s at the end of the opening lap.

The Trading Post Falcon went on to win the 14 lap event by 2.7s from Garth Tander (Toll Holden Racing Team), who made his way around Thompson at Turn 4 on Lap 5.

David Reynolds (Stratco Racing) led home Todd Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) for fourth, while Lowndes recovered to sixth, despite running as low as ninth at the completion of the opening lap.

The dice between Reynolds and Kelly provided the biggest entertainment of the race, with the Braeside based Commodores making minor contact at the exit of MG Corner on Lap 5 as the team boss tried to make his way by.

With each car required to make a Compulsory Pit Stop in one of today’s two Qualifying Races, 11 drivers pitted in the opening encounter.

Cameron McConville (Toll Holden Racing Team) finished as the highest of those to pit in 18th position – one ahead of Kiwi John McIntyre (SP Tools Falcon).

Jack Perkins had a tough run in the Supercheap Auto Commodore – finishing 25th after an off at Turn 1 on Lap 4.

Taz Douglas, substituting for the ill Tony D’Alberto in the Wilson Security Falcon, was 26th.

While Dean Canto finished 21st in the race, the #55 Falcon crew is currently making a precautionary engine change prior to Qualifying Race B.

See below for the full Driver A Qualifying Race 1 result

1 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 22:40.9887
2 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 22:43.6862
3 TeamVodafone Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE2 22:46.2590
4 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 22:47.1343
5 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 22:47.8978
6 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 22:48.9143
7 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 22:52.9884
8 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 22:54.4301
9 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 22:54.9821
10 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 22:56.0143
11 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 22:56.3817
12 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 22:59.0017
13 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 23:00.0188
14 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 23:00.0875
15 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 23:02.2860
16 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 23:05.9973
17 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 23:08.1551
18 Toll Holden Racing Team Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE2 23:38.0356
19 SP Tools Racing John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 23:42.5602
20 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 23:43.1648
21 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 23:43.6685
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Owen Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 23:46.5991
23 Pepsi Max Crew Allan Simonsen Holden Commodore VE2 23:54.2287
24 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 23:55.4912
25 Supercheap Auto Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE2 23:55.8058
26 Wilson Security Racing Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 23:58.7713
27 Gulf Western Oil Racing Nathan Pretty Holden Commodore VE2 24:04.3982
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 24:05.3716

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Phillip Island Race Guide

Comments are closed.