Will Davison edges Lowndes in Driver A quali

Will Davison will start Qualifying Race 1 from pole

Will Davison will start Qualifying Race 1 from pole

Ford Performance Racing’s Will Davison has beaten TeamVodafone’s Craig Lowndes to pole position for Qualifying Race 1 at Phillip Island today.

Davison and Lowndes set 1:33.18s and 1:33.20s times respectively on their second flying laps of the session – times which even they could not better over the remaining 15 minutes.

Andrew Thompson (TeamVodafone) put in a 1:33.32s lap in the final 30 seconds of the session to be the first of the co-drivers in third, ahead of Michael Caruso (Fujitsu Racing) and John McIntyre (SP Tools Racing).

David Reynolds (Stratco Racing) recovered from a minor off-road excursion during his first run to be sixth, while Steve Owen (VIP Petfoods Racing) was seventh after languishing in 25th with just four minutes remaining.

Garth Tander (Toll Holden Racing Team), Todd Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) and Fabian Coulthard (Bundaberg Racing) rounded out the top 10.

Those nominated as Driver B will take to the track for their own 20 minute qualifying session at 12:05, followed by a 60km race for the A Drivers at 14:35.

Listen below to Will Davison’s thoughts after the session
Will Davison Q1 PI 2011 by speedcafe

See below for the full result for Qualifying Race 1 Qualifying

1 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:33.1874
2 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.2094
3 TeamVodafone Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.3291
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.3331
5 SP Tools Racing John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 1:33.3885
6 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.5065
7 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.5553
8 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.6242
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.6953
10 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.7359
11 Toll Holden Racing Team Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.7393
12 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.7713
13 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.7715
14 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:33.8020
15 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:33.8031
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.8428
17 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 1:33.9913
18 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:34.1322
19 Pepsi Max Crew Allan Simonsen Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.1348
20 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:34.2327
21 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:34.2517
22 Jack Daniel’s Racing Owen Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.2969
23 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.3102
24 Wilson Security Racing Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 1:34.3209
25 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:34.3963
26 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:34.3994
27 Gulf Western Oil Racing Nathan Pretty Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.7311
28 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.1554

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Phillip Island Race Guide

Comments are closed.