Van Gisbergen wins Driver B Qualifying Race

Van Gisbergen at Phillip Island

Van Gisbergen at Phillip Island

Stone Brothers Racing’s Shane van Gisbergen has won the second of the two Qualifying Races at Phillip Island.

The SP Tools backed driver took the lead at the start from the front row of the grid, and was never headed across the 14 laps.

With his closest pursuers Jamie Whincup and Mark Skaife (TeamVodafone) both needing to make their Compulsory Pit Stop during the second race, van Gisbergen cruised to a 9.2s second victory over Paul Dumbrell.

Greg Murphy (Pepsi Max Crew) took third, ahead of a charging Mark Winterbottom (Orrcon Steel FPR).

James Courtney (Toll Holden Racing Team), Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing), Warren Luff (Gulf Western Oils Racing), Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto Racing) and Dale Wood (Wilson Security Racing) rounded out the top 10.

Seventeen drivers were required to pit in the race, with Whincup, Skaife, Nick Percat (Toll Holden Racing Team), Luke Youlden (Trading Post FPR) and Greg Ritter (Fujitsu Racing) filling 12th through 17th as the first of the stoppers.

The combined points from the two qualifying races means the Will Davison/Luke Youlden Ford Performance Racing Falcon will start tomorrow’s L&H 500 from pole position.

See below for the full Driver B Qualifying Race result

1 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 14 22:34.0272
2 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 14 22:43.2020
3 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 14 22:43.4781
4 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 14 22:43.7744
5 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 14 22:44.9185
6 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 14 22:46.0342
7 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 14 22:53.3007
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 14 22:56.4853
9 Wilson Security Racing Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 14 22:58.2449
10 Jim Beam Racing Matthew Halliday Ford Falcon FG 14 23:02.5594
11 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:12.9344
12 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:16.5147
13 TeamVodafone Mark Skaife Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:24.1984
14 Toll Holden Racing Team Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:26.4464
15 Trading Post FPR Falcon Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG 14 23:30.3049
16 Fujitsu Racing GRM Greg Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:36.9380
17 Bundaberg Racing Craig Baird Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:38.4721
18 Fujitsu Racing GRM Marcus Marshall Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:40.7100
19 Stratco Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:41.5409
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:45.4596
21 Lucky 7 Racing Daniel Gaunt Ford Falcon FG 14 23:49.9080
22 Triple F Racing Michael Patrizi Ford Falcon FG 14 23:51.1706
23 VIP Petfoods Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 14 23:53.7922
24 Jim Beam Racing David Besnard Ford Falcon FG 14 23:55.3446
25 Mother Energy Racing Team Richard Lyons Ford Falcon FG 14 24:00.7887
26 Irwin Racing David Brabham Ford Falcon FG 14 24:00.9042
27 Jana Living Racing Shane Price Holden Commodore VE2 14 24:01.1583
28 Team Boc Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 14 24:07.0742


Check out’s Phillip Island Race Guide below

Comments are closed.