Lowndes keeps Vodafone on top in Practice 5

Craig Lowndes at Phillip Island

Craig Lowndes at Phillip Island

Craig Lowndes has completed TeamVodafone’s preparations for today’s first V8 Supercars qualifying session by topping Practice 5.

Having sat out this morning’s first session while co-driver Mark Skaife completed laps, Lowndes sat atop the Practice 2 times for the majority of the 40 minutes.

The reigning Phillip Island and Bathurst winner lowered his 1:33.70s best effort to 1:33.47s inside the final five minutes, which was enough to withstand a late final flyer from Nick Percat in the #2 Toll Holden Racing Team entry.

Jason Bright (Team BOC) showed strong form to record the third fastest time, ahead of Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing) and Todd Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing).

Jason Bargwanna and Paul Dumbrell both had hairy moments in final practice.

The Jana Living Commodore sailed off the road at the Southern Loop (Turn 2), with Bargwanna skipping through the gravel trap before narrowly avoiding contact with the outside wall.

Dumbrell however was not so lucky, with The Bottle-O Falcon head-butting the outside tyre barrier at Siberia after doing some gravel surfing of his own. Dumbrell drove back to the pits after the incident, with his Ford Performance Racing showing no visible signs of damage.

Taz Douglas had his first run in place of Tony D’Alberto at Wilson Security Racing – ending the session 25th fastest.

The V8 Supercars will return to the circuit at 11:25 this morning, with those nominated as Driver A facing a 20 minute qualifying session for this afternoon’s Qualifying Race A.

CLICK HERE for the full Driver A and B lists

See below for the full Practice 5 order

1 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.4692
2 Toll Holden Racing Team G.Tander/N.Percat Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.6657
3 Team Boc J.Bright/A.Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.7657
4 Fujitsu Racing GRM L.Holdsworth/G.Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.7880
5 Jack Daniel’s Racing T.Kelly/David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.8241
6 Trading Post FPR Falcon W.Davison/L.Youlden Ford Falcon FG 1:33.8723
7 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon M.Winterbottom/S.Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:33.9244
8 TeamVodafone Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE2 1:33.9274
9 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:34.0120
10 Pepsi Max Crew G.Murphy/A.Simonsen Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.1043
11 Stratco Racing D.Reynolds/T.Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.1364
12 The Bottle-O Racing Team P.Dumbrell/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG 1:34.1881
13 Lucky 7 Racing T.Slade/D.Gaunt Ford Falcon FG 1:34.2525
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.2670
15 Toll Holden Racing Team Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.2861
16 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.3814
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing R.Kelly/O.Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.5072
18 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:34.6464
19 Irwin Racing A.Davison/D.Brabham Ford Falcon FG 1:34.8141
20 Fujitsu Racing GRM M.Caruso/M.Marshall Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.8312
21 VIP Petfoods Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.8953
22 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.0630
23 Jim Beam Racing J.Moffat/M.Halliday Ford Falcon FG 1:35.0879
24 Bundaberg Racing F.Coulthard/C.Baird Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.1747
25 Wilson Security Racing Taz Douglas Ford Falcon FG 1:35.2690
26 Mother Energy Racing Team Richard Lyons Ford Falcon FG 1:35.3254
27 Jim Beam Racing S.Johnson/D.Besnard Ford Falcon FG 1:36.1038
28 Gulf Western Oil Racing W.Luff/N.Pretty Holden Commodore VE2 1:37.0229

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Phillip Island Race Guide

Comments are closed.