Carr on Island Aussie Racing Cars pole

Peter Carr will start Race 1 from pole

Peter Carr will start Race 1 from pole

New South Wales racer Peter Carr has taken his second pole position of the 2011 FW1 Aussie Racing Car Series at Phillip Island.

The Delonghi backed driver led a Toyota Aurion sweep of the top five positions – ending the 20 minute session 0.04s ahead of second placed Adam Gowans.

Series points leader Adrian Cottrell clocked the third fastest time, while Brendon Pingel and Tyler Owen rounded out the top five.

Trent Young, Kyle Clews, Mark Clements, Simon Smith and Maurice Massi filled sixth through 10th.

Former 500cc motorcycle rider Kevin McGee will make his Aussie Racing Car debut from 33rd on the grid, while Shannons Supercar Showdown contestant Hayley Swanson will start 38th.

Race 1 of 3 for the weekend will take place at 12:35.

Comments are closed.