Mark Skaife fastest in Phillip Island Practice 2

Mark Skaife

Mark Skaife

Mark Skaife has made the perfect start to his first V8 Supercars race meeting of 2011 – topping the time sheets in the co-driver only Practice 2 session.

Skaife, who will race in this weekend’s L&H 500 at Phillip Island with TeamVodafone star Craig Lowndes, set a best time of 1:34.39s as the chequered flag fell on the 40 minute session.

John McIntyre was 0.04s adrift in second after a pair of late flyers – signalling a strong recover from Stone Brothers Racing after the SP Tools Falcon failed to complete a flying lap in Practice 1 due to an electrical problem.

Nick Percat (#2 Toll Holden Racing Team) was third fastest, while Jack Perkins (#39 Supercheap Auto Racing) and Greg Ritter (#33 Fujitsu Racing) rounded out the top five.

West Australian Michael Patrizi enjoyed a strong session in Dean Fiore’s WesTrac Falcon. The Carrera Cup front-runner sat atop the time sheets with 10 minutes remaining, before ending the session ninth having failed to improve during his final run.

Andrew Thompson, driving the second of the TeamVodafone Commodores, was 14th at the conclusion of the 40 minutes – 1.41s adrift of Skaife’s benchmark.

V8 Supercars Practice 3 will kick off at 14:10, with all drivers permitted to take part.

CLICK HERE for report and results from Practice 1.

See below for the full Practice 2 times

1 TeamVodafone C.Lowndes/M.Skaife Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.3872
2 SP Tools Racing S.Van Gisbergen/J.McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 1:34.4254
3 Toll Holden Racing Team G.Tander/N.Percat Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.4304
4 Supercheap Auto Racing R.Ingall/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.5423
5 Fujitsu Racing GRM L.Holdsworth/G.Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.5708
6 Toll Holden Racing Team J.Courtney/C.McConville Holden Commodore VE2 1:34.7501
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team P.Dumbrell/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG 1:35.0309
8 Jack Daniel’s Racing T.Kelly/David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.1259
9 Triple F Racing D.Fiore/M.Patrizi Ford Falcon FG 1:35.2528
10 Jim Beam Racing S.Johnson/D.Besnard Ford Falcon FG 1:35.5575
11 Bundaberg Racing F.Coulthard/C.Baird Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.5631
12 Pepsi Max Crew G.Murphy/A.Simonsen Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.7179
13 Wilson Security Racing T.D’Alberto/D.Wood Ford Falcon FG 1:35.7180
14 TeamVodafone J.Whincup/A.Thompson Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.7930
15 Jim Beam Racing J.Moffat/M.Halliday Ford Falcon FG 1:35.8040
16 Irwin Racing A.Davison/D.Brabham Ford Falcon FG 1:35.8609
17 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon M.Winterbottom/S.Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:35.9222
18 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing K.Reindler/D.Wall Holden Commodore VE2 1:35.9980
19 Trading Post FPR Falcon W.Davison/L.Youlden Ford Falcon FG 1:36.0166
20 Lucky 7 Racing T.Slade/D.Gaunt Ford Falcon FG 1:36.1344
21 Jack Daniel’s Racing R.Kelly/O.Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.1466
22 Stratco Racing D.Reynolds/T.Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.1484
23 Mother Energy Racing Team J.Webb/R.Lyons Ford Falcon FG 1:36.2707
24 Fujitsu Racing GRM M.Caruso/M.Marshall Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.4151
25 VIP Petfoods S.Owen/P.Morris Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.7997
26 Team Boc J.Bright/A.Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.8733
27 Jana Living Racing J.Bargwanna/S.Price Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.9035
28 Gulf Western Oil Racing W.Luff/N.Pretty Holden Commodore VE2 1:36.9085


For more on the L&H 500, see’s V8 Race Guide below

Comments are closed.