Lucas di Grassi secures final Gold Coast seat

Lucas di Grassi

Lucas di Grassi

Brazilian Lucas di Grassi has been confirmed as the final Armor All Gold Coast 600 international driver in the field, teaming up with Mother Energy Racing Team’s Jonathon Webb.

The former Virgin Racing F1 driver, who is currently the test pilot for Pirelli, completes the line-up of International drivers for this year’s event.

Di Grassi, 27, says he is thrilled to be part of the unique event.

“It’s a real privilege to be asked to join the high calibre of drivers taking part at this year’s event,” di Grassi said.

“It’s sure to be a special meeting and I can’t wait to take on the Surfers Paradise track.”

Webb was delighted at securing the experienced Brazilian.

“Di Grassi has achieved so much at a young age,” he said.

“He has been involved in F1 racing for the past four years, and brings a professional and polished reputation to our team.

“We have no doubts Lucas will be one of the fastest drivers, and that he will prove to be a real asset for us over the weekend.”

Mother Energy team manager Bruce Jenkins worked with Lucas in 2004 and is pleased the team was able to secure the Brazilian’s services.

“Lucas and I worked together when he was a development driver for Renault, where he proved to be the consummate professional,” Jenkins said.

“As a team we’re confident that he will be a competitive force and help the team to get a great result.”

The Armor All Gold Coast 600 is held at Surfers Paradise, October 21-23.


* Drivers pairings to be confirmed

Car Team V8 Driver International Driver
#1 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Dan Wheldon
#2 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe
#3 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Vitantonio Liuzzi
#4 IRWIN Racing Alex Davison Marc Lieb
#5 Orrcon Steel FPR Mark Winterbottom Will Power
#6 Trading Post FPR Will Davison Mika Salo
#7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Richard Westbrook
#8 Team BOC Jason Bright Stephane Sarrazin
#9 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen Scott Dixon
#11 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Greg Murphy Oliver Gavin
#12 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Dean Fiore Gianni Morbidelli
#14 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Tony Kanaan
#15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Jorg Bergmeister
#16 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Alex Tagliani
#17 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Dirk Muller
#18 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Joey Hand
#19 Mother Energy Drink Racing Jonathon Webb Lucas di Grassi
#21 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Fabrizio Giovanardi
#30 Gulf Western Oils Racing Warren Luff Marino Franchitti
#33 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Simon Pagenaud
#34 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Augusto Farfus
#39 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Jan Magnussen
#47 Lucky7 Racing Tim Slade Helio Castroneves
#49 VIP Petfoods Racing Steve Owen Boris Said
#55 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Christian Klein
#61 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Patrick Long
#88 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Andy Priaulx
#888 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Sebastien Bourdais 

Comments are closed.