Sonic scores QR podium whitewash

Sunday 21st August, 2011 - 2:03pm


Sonic's podium trio: Nick Foster, Cameron Waters and Matthew Brabham

Sonic's podium trio: Nick Foster, Cameron Waters and Matthew Brabham

Cameron Waters has become the first repeat winner in the Australian Formula Ford Championship this year after taking victory in Round 4 at Queensland Raceway today.

The two races today saw Jack LeBrocq and Cameron Waters win, but Waters’ consistency saw him take the round honours.

Behind Waters in the round honours was his Sonic Motor Racing team-mates Matthew Brabham and Nick Foster, giving the Victorian team another podium clean-sweep at the Ipswich circuit.

Foster was forced to fight back from 17th to second in the final race, but it was Waters who stared and extended his championship lead in the process.

“I wasn’t happy finishing third in the first two races of the weekend, but as it’s turned out, those finishes were important and I was able to control the final race. We really improved the car across the day and it was good enough in the final race to build a gap and race calmly to the finish,” Waters said.

“It’s really good for the championship again, especially with Nick [Foster] having a DNF in race two. He was really strong this weekend, so to come out on top at the end ad to gain a few more points in the title race is a good feeling.

“I can’t wait for Sandown in a few weekends time and hopefully I can continue this momentum and clinch another round win and a good amount of points.”

In just his second round this season, Brabham was once again right at the front of the field, but he almost undid all his good work in the final race, making contact with Foster and LeBrocq.

“It was a tough weekend, especially with the changing weather conditions, but it was also very exciting from my perspective,” Brabham said.

“I was a little lucky to still come away with second in the round after the final race, but fortunately I did enough in races one and two to secure the result. There was plenty of good racing this weekend between all the drivers, so to come away with a podium and another trophy is a great result.”

Jack LeBrocq eventually finished fourth for the round after being in contention for victory, ahead of Liam Sager and Garry Jacobson, while Mathew Hart, Shae Davies, Andre Borell and Tom Williamson rounded out the top 10.

The next round of the Australian Formula Ford CVhampionship championship will take place at Sandown International Motor Raceway on September 9-11.

Also in the supports races at Queensland Raceway, the Aussie Racing Cars saw Sheridan Phillips take one race win, while former series champion Paul Kemal took the wins in Race 3 and 4. comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!