Andrew Jones wins soggy Fujitsu Race 2

Andrew Jones

Andrew Jones

Seven years after taking out the Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series, Andrew Jones has returned to the winner’s circle in Race 2 at Queensland Raceway.

The Brad Jones Racing driver hunted down early race leader Paul Morris in wet conditions at the Ipswich circuit, eventually passing the Sergeant Security Commodore on Lap 12 of 15.

Morris went on to greet the chequered flag 4.8s behind Jones in second, while David Russell, Chaz Mostert and Scott McLaughlin completed the top five.

Russell inherited third place on the penultimate lap when Cameron McConville pitted to serve a drive-through penalty for overlapping on a Safety Car restart.


The Holden Racing Team endurance co-driver had been one of several caught in a bottleneck caused by Russell having run wide exiting Turn 6.

Mostert charged through the pack after starting from the pitlane – lapping over a second faster than the field in the closing stages as he made his way past yesterday’s winner McLaughlin.

Nick Percat took sixth having also been forced to fight through the field after his DNF yesterday.

Jack Perkins started off pole thanks to the reverse top 10 grid format, but fell to fifth in the opening corners. The Sonic Motor Racing Services Falcon driver made his way back onto the tail of Russell as the race wound down, but lost several positions with an ambitious inside move for third at Turn 4.

The race’s one and only Safety Car was the result of Perkins’ team-mate Rodney Jane running off at Turn 3 on the opening lap. Tim Blanchard and Tony Bates also lost time with first lap offs, while Ash Walsh and Geoff Emery saw their chances dashed by black flags for defective rain lights.

Race 3 for the Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series will take place at 1:15pm local time.

See below for the full race result

1 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 15 26:10.3657
2 Sargent Security Racing Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE 15 26:15.2076
3 Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 26:25.9022
4 Simpro Software/Master Elect. Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon BF 15 26:27.2745
5 Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon BF 15 26:28.4902
6 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 15 26:28.6843
7 Bob Jane T Marts/Supercheap Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 15 26:31.9555
8 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE 15 26:32.3611
9 Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 15 26:35.4254
10 CrimSafe Racing Grant Denyer Holden Commodore VE 15 26:36.1598
11 Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 26:37.6479
12 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE 15 26:51.3366
13 Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ 15 26:56.6807
14 Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 15 26:58.7825
15 Flexi Staff Todd Fiore Ford Falcon BF 15 26:59.0324
16 EarthEx/Drill pro Srvs James Brock Holden Commodore VE 15 27:00.4948
17 Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 15 27:12.0075
18 Team Tom Supporters Club Tom Tweedie Ford Falcon BF 15 27:16.5368
19 Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 15 27:17.2558
20 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 15 27:25.3280
21 Midway Concrete&Garden Supply Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 15 27:25.8322
22 Warrin Mining Adam Wallis Holden Commodore VE 15 27:26.3022
23 R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 15 27:26.7071
24 NCSS Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 15 27:30.4001
25 / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 14 27:07.3245
DNF AC Delco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 11 26:48.0697
DNF Simpro Software/Master Elect. Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF  9 18:07.7338
DNF Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG




Comments are closed.