Lowndes takes second win at Queensland

Saturday 20th August, 2011 - 4:42pm


Craig Lowndes

Craig Lowndes

Craig Lowndes continues to prove unstoppable at Queensland Raceway in 2011, adding the Race 17 victory to his earlier triumph from pole position in Race 16.

CLICK HERE for a race report from Race 16.

While the afternoon’s second encounter was a repeat of the first for Lowndes, Jamie Whincup made it a TeamVodafone one-two by passing Tim Slade on the opening lap.

A leaking differential for Whincup was the only major concern for TeamVodafone, with the #88 Commodore emitting smoke in the closing stages.

In a processional race at the front of the field, Rick Kelly and Steve Owen kept their starting positions to take fourth and fifth.

Steve Johnson improved one position to finish sixth, crossing the line ahead of Greg Murphy, Shane van Gisbergen, James Moffat and Mark Winterbottom.

Garth Tander quickly made his way from the back of the grid to sit 14th after 10 laps, but eventually finished 23rd after being spun by Jason Bargwanna on the penultimate lap.

The Safety Car made an appearance early in the race after a contact between Karl Reindler and Alex Davison initiated a chain reaction.

While Reindler spun into the infield, Davison slowed in front of the pack, resulting in a heavy nose-to-tail collision between Davison, Todd Kelly and James Courtney that took the two Holden drivers out of the race.

Paul Dumbrell and David Reynolds finished at the tail of the field after both coming off second best in a first corner incident that began when Dumbrell made contact with the back of the IRWIN Tools Falcon.

See below for the full race result

1 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes  Holden Commodore VE2  22 28:44.5740
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup  Holden Commodore VE2  22 28:46.0211
3 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade  Ford Falcon FG  22 28:47.2450
4 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly  Holden Commodore VE2  22 28:54.3627
5 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen  Holden Commodore VE2  22 28:58.7950
6 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson  Ford Falcon FG  22 28:59.7826
7 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:00.7820
8 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen  Ford Falcon FG  22 29:03.4570
9 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat  Ford Falcon FG  22 29:04.0375
10 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom  Ford Falcon FG  22 29:07.8918
11 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:08.1065
12 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:08.4316
13 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:10.2046
14 Team Boc Jason Bright  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:10.3210
15 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison  Ford Falcon FG  22 29:11.0315
16 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:12.8831
17 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto  Ford Falcon FG  22 29:14.4973
18 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:14.8145
19 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:16.6189
20 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb  Ford Falcon FG  22 29:19.6032
21 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore  Ford Falcon FG  22 29:19.8309
22 Irwin Racing Alex Davison  Ford Falcon FG  22 29:25.7919
23 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:26.3520
24 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff  Holden Commodore VE2  22 29:30.7220
25 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell  Ford Falcon FG  21 29:27.8231
26 Stratco Racing David Reynolds  Holden Commodore VE2  18 29:59.6003
DNF Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly  Holden Commodore VE2   1  1:22.1274
DNF Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney  Holden Commodore VE2   1  1:22.4474
 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!