Vettel snatches pole from Hamilton in Hungary

Saturday 30th July, 2011 - 11:06pm


Sebastian Vettel ended qualifying on top

Sebastian Vettel ended qualifying on top

Sebastian Vettel has snatched pole position from Lewis Hamilton at the Hungaroring.

The reigning World Champion took his 23rd career pole with a 1:19.82s final lap in Q3, undercutting Hamilton’s earlier effort by 0.16s.

Hamilton will start second despite failing to improve on his second Q3 run, ahead of team-mate Jenson Button and the Ferrari of Felipe Massa.

Like Hamilton, Fernando Alonso could not improve on his initial Q3 effort and will start fifth, one place ahead of Mark Webber, who suffered KERS issues in the session.

Nico Rosberg, Adrian Sutil, Michael Schumacher and Sergio Perez rounded out the top 10, having completed just one Q3 run each.

Australian Daniel Ricciardo will start his third Grand Prix from 22nd on the grid. The Hispania driver was 0.16s adrift of team-mate Tonio Liuzzi in Q1, but quick enough to beat Virgin Racing’s Jerome D’Ambrosio.

Toro Rosso’s Sebastien Buemi finished the session 18th fastest but will start 23rd thanks to a five place grid penalty for his collision with Nick Heidfeld in the German Grand Prix.

See below for the full qualifying result







1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1:21.740 1:21.095 1:19.815
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:21.636 1:21.105 1:19.978
3 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:22.038 1:20.578 1:20.024
4 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:22.130 1:21.099 1:20.350
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:21.578 1:20.262 1:20.365
6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1:22.208 1:20.890 1:20.474
7 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:22.996 1:21.243 1:21.098
8 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:22.237 1:22.000 1:21.445
9 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:22.876 1:21.852 1:21.907
10 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1:23.067 1:22.157
11 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1:22.976 1:22.256
12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1:23.070 1:22.284
13 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:23.278 1:22.435
14 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1:23.024 1:22.470
15 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:23.075 1:22.684
16 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1:23.285 1:22.979
17 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1:23.847
18 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1:24.070
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1:24.362
20 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1:24.534
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:26.294
22 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1:26.323
23 Daniel Ricciardo HRT-Cosworth 1:26.479
24 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1:26.510

View’s Budapest Race Guide below

Open publication – Free publishing – More budapest comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!