TC: Remaining GC600 drivers coming soon

Thursday 28th July, 2011 - 2:59pm


Action from last year's Armor All Gold Coast 600

Action from last year's Armor All Gold Coast 600

The final three international drivers will be announced shortly, according to V8 Supercars Chairman Tony Cochrane.

V8 Supercars announced seven drivers today, taking the list of confirmed to 25, with three to be confirmed soon.

The three V8 stars currently without a partner include James Courtney, Jason Bargwanna and Jonathon Webb.

IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti, former V8 driver Max Wilson and former F1 star Alex Wurz were all mentioned as possible drivers for these seats respectively, but the deals have since fallen over.

Cochrane is now in a race of his own to fill the empty seats, but says he has a “surprise” up his sleeve.

“We are delighted with the final field of international drivers that we have so far and we still have a couple of surprises to come,” said Cochrane.

“We have a great mixture of youth and experience and our first current F1 star in Tonio Liuzzi.

“To be honest, the interest has been that strong that we could have filled 60 spots on the grid with international drivers and that is a great sign for the event and its future.

“Some of the drivers might not be household names in Australia, but they are all high-profile drivers in their own countries and their involvement in this event will help create so much more international interest for the Gold Coast and Queensland.

“It is safe to say everyone will know who they are by the time they leave here.

“I am sure we are going to be in for one hell of a show.”

See below for the current entry list for the Armor All Gold Coast 600

* Driver pairings to be confirmed

Car Team V8 Driver International Driver
#1 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney TBC
#2 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Ryan Briscoe
#3 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Vitantonio Liuzzi
#4 IRWIN Racing Alex Davison Marc Lieb
#5 Orrcon Steel FPR Mark Winterbottom Will Power
#6 Trading Post FPR Will Davison Mika Salo
#7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Richard Westbrook
#8 Team BOC Jason Bright Stephane Sarrazin
#9 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen Scott Dixon
#11 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Oliver Gavin
#12 Triple F Racing Dean Fiore Dean Fiore Gianni Morbidelli
#14 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna TBC
#15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Jorg Bergmeister
#16 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Alex Tagliani
#17 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Dirk Muller
#18 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Joey Hand
#19 Mother Energy Drink Racing Jonathon Webb TBC
#21 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Fabrizio Giovanardi
#30 Gulf Western Oils Racing Warren Luff Marino Franchitti
#33 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Simon Pagenaud
#34 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Augusto Farfus
#39 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Jan Magnussen
#47 Lucky7 Racing Tim Slade Helio Castroneves
#49 VIP Petfoods Racing Steve Owen Boris Said
#55 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Christian Klein
#61 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Patrick Long
#88 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Andy Priaulx
#888 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Sebastien Bourdais comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!