Mark Webber takes second consecutive pole

Saturday 23rd July, 2011 - 11:00pm


Webber will start from pole at the Nurburgring

Webber will start from pole at the Nurburgring

Mark Webber will start the German Grand Prix from pole position after topping qualifying for the third time this season.

The Q3 session saw the leading contenders complete two runs, with Webber proving the fastest man on both occasions.

Webber’s team-mate Sebastian Vettel was second fastest after the first run but will start third after a great final lap from Lewis Hamilton.

Fernando Alonso was fourth quickest from team-mate Felipe Massa, Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg and Jenson Button in the second McLaren.

Adrian Sutil, Vitaly Petrov and Michael Schumacher rounded out the top ten.

Daniel Ricciardo qualified 24th – just 0.025s shy of team-mate Tonio Liuzzi. The Australian will start the race ahead of the Liuzzi however due to the Italian being penalised for a gearbox change.

See below for the full qualifying result







1 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1:33.096 1:31.311 1:30.079
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:32.934 1:30.998 1:30.134
3 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1:32.973 1:31.017 1:30.216
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:32.916 1:31.150 1:30.442
5 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:31.826 1:31.582 1:30.910
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:32.785 1:31.343 1:31.263
7 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:33.224 1:31.532 1:31.288
8 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:32.286 1:31.809 1:32.010
9 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1:33.187 1:31.985 1:32.187
10 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:32.603 1:32.180 1:32.482
11 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1:32.505 1:32.215
12 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1:32.651 1:32.560
13 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1:33.003 1:32.635
14 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:33.664 1:33.043
15 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1:33.295 1:33.176
16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1:33.635 1:33.546
17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1:33.658 1:33.698
18 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:33.786
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1:35.599
20 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:36.400
21 Karun Chandhok Lotus-Renault 1:36.422
22 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1:36.641
23 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1:37.011
24 Daniel Ricciardo HRT-Cosworth 1:37.036

See below for’s German Grand Prix Race Guide comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!