Atkinson wins in New Zealand

Sunday 17th July, 2011 - 1:16pm


Chris Atkinson has won Rally Whangarei

Australia’s Chris Atkinson has won his third event from four starts in this year’s Asia Pacific Rally Championship with victory at the International Rally of Whangarei in New Zealand.

Atkinson was pressed all the way in his Proton Satria Neo S2000 by Production Class World Championship driver Hayden Paddon but held-on to win by just 12.4-seconds after 16 stages over two days in tricky and at times wet conditions.

The Queenslander stepped things up today winning five of the leg’s eight stages. Yesterday he won 3 of Saturday’s eight stages.

“Obviously to get the overall win as well as the Asia Pacific Rally Championship points is fantastic,” said Atkinson.

“It was good fun having a fight with Hayden. Our car was working really well today and I didn’t take any massive risks, but I definitely pushed hard all day.

“Obviously he’s a fast driver and very quick on these roads and we had to do our very best to hold him behind us.”

Proton team-mate Alister McRae had a tougher day slipping from third to seventh after mechanical issues.

“We had a small problem with the engine and backed off to drive it to the finish, so it’s a bit disappointing,” said McRae.

“But we had to think of the points for the championship and we’re second APRC so that’s good.”

This place went to Richard Mason, while Austalia’s Brendan Reeves put in one of the best drives on the day to climb from ninth to sixth at the end of the rally.

Results : International Rally Whangarei

Pos Driver Car Model Time
1 Chris  Atkinson Proton Satria  Neo S2000 3:01:26.9
2 Hayden  Paddon Subaru Impreza  WRX STi +0:12.4
3 Richard  Mason Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +1:48.1
4 Chris  West Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +2:47.0
5 Emma  Gilmour Subaru Impreza  WRX STi +3:25.2
6 Brendan  Reeves Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +3:41.0
7 Alister  McRae Proton Satria  Neo S2000 +3:55.2
8 Kingsley Thompson Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X +4:31.7
9 Glenn  Inkster Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +9:27.5
10 Subhan  Aksa Mitsubishi Lancer  Evo IX +9:30.7


Asia Pacific Rally Championship Standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Chris Atkinson 109
2 Alister McRae 88
3 Gaurav Gill 63
4 Rifat Sungkar 48
5 Brian Green 42 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!