Thompson returns to the top in Race 3

Sunday 10th July, 2011 - 1:58pm


Round 3 winner Andrew Thompson

Round 3 winner Andrew Thompson

Andrew Thompson has returned to the top of the Fujitsu V8 Supercars field in Townsville, taking out Race 3 and the round.

The Race 1 winner’s weekend looked in jeopardy this morning when he was forced to start Race 2 from the rear of the grid.

CLICK HERE for’s Race 2 report

Having fought through to fifth in Race 2, Thompson was awarded second on the aggregate grid for Race 3 before taking the lead from pole-sitter David Russell on the second lap.

Jack Perkins found his own way around Russell one lap later and held station to the flag.

Paul Morris, Nick Percat, Cameron McConville, Daniel Jilesen, Scott McLaughlin, Rodney Jane and Andrew Jones rounded out the top 10.

Race 2 winner Tim Blanchard followed in 11th.

Marcus Zukanovic ran in the top four early but fell back through the pack before retiring with mechanical issues in the closing stages.

Thompson (791 points) continues to lead the series standings after three rounds, ahead of Perkins (677), Russell (675), Scott McLaughlin (636) and Daniel Jilesen (603).

The series continues at Queensland Raceway on August 19-21.

See below for the full Race 3 result

1  Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 18 22:43.2055
2  Bob Jane T Marts/Supercheap Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 18 22:44.4828
3  Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 18 22:46.4450
4  The Love Machine Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE 18 22:50.1746
5  Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 18 22:50.8098
6  Eggleston Motorsport Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE 18 22:50.9339
7  R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 18 22:52.8805
8  Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon BF 18 23:06.6043
9  Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 18 23:07.6238
10  Flexi Hire Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 18 23:08.2808
11  Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 18 23:09.4901
12  Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 18 23:09.8602
13  Simpro Software/Master Elect. Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon BF 18 23:09.8960
14 / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 18 23:12.6494
15  Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 18 23:12.9070
16  Simpro Software/Master Elect. Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF 18 23:13.2096
17  Team Tom Supporters Club Tom Tweedie Ford Falcon BF 18 23:16.3632
18  AC Delco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 18 23:17.2779
19  City of Townsville/Bisley Colin Sieders Ford Falcon BF 18 23:28.8327
20  Tricor/EarthEx/Drill Pro Srvs James Brock Holden Commodore VE 18 23:29.4195
21  Wilson Security Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VE 18 23:30.3966
22  Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ 18 23:34.4503
23  NCSS Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 18 23:54.3703
24  Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 18 23:57.9776
DNF  Midway Concrete&Garden Supply Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 13 16:41.9855
DNF  Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 18 22:43.2055 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!