Power unbeatable in Toronto qualifying

Sunday 10th July, 2011 - 9:03am


Will Power collects his eight-straight road/street course pole position

Will Power collects his eight-straight road/street course pole position

Will Power has taken pole position in Toronto ahead of tomorrow’s IndyCar race at the 11-turn Exhibition Place circuit.

Power’s fast time secured his 21st pole position of his career and his eighth-straight pole on road/street courses over two seasons.

While he’s the dominant qualifying force, he had to really earn it through three grueling rounds of qualifications. Five different teams were represented in the Firestone Fast Six, with Power recording a quick lap of 59m5771s.

“Man, we really had to work hard for that in the Verizon car,” said Power, the defending race winner.

“I’ve never won a pole here in Toronto and I love this place. When you turn a fast lap here, you’re really just exhausted.

“This is such a physical track. It’s a real driver’s track with all the different surfaces and all the bumps, you really need to wring its neck out there and that’s what I love about it.

“That’s the great thing about IZOD IndyCar. We’re not on these super smooth, same grip surfaces with a heap of downforce. You’ve really got to drive these things and I think that’s what’s great about IndyCar racing. It’s great to be on pole here but this is a track where you can really pass a lot of cars and move forward from the back, so we still have a lot of work to do tomorrow.”

Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) will start on the front row for the second time this season (59m6646s) ahead of his team-mate Dario Franchitti and Mike Conway (Andretti Autosports).

Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske) failed to make it into the Fast Six session and will start from 10th.

See below for the full qualifying result

 1 Will Power Penske 59.577s
 2 Scott Dixon Ganassi 59.665s
 3 Dario Franchitti Ganassi 59.900s
 4 Mike Conway Andretti 59.933s
 5 Graham Rahal Ganassi 1m00.046s
 6 Oriol Servia Newman/Haas 1m00.334s
 7 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne 59.824s
 8 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti 59.871s
 9 Alex Tagliani Sam Schmidt 59.890s
10 Ryan Briscoe Penske 59.902s
11 Justin Wilson Dreyer & Reinbold 59.964s
12 Helio Castroneves Penske 1m00.011s
13 James Hinchcliffe Newman/Haas 59.835s
14 Vitor Meira Foyt 59.987s
15 Sebastian Saavedra Conquest 59.939s
16 Tony Kanaan KV 1m00.015s
17 Simona de Silvestro HVM 1m00.081s
18 EJ Viso KV 1m00.119s
19 Takuma Sato KV 1m00.100s
20 Marco Andretti Andretti 1m00.154s
21 Danica Patrick Andretti 1m00.344s
22 JR Hildebrand Panther 1m00.447s
23 James Jakes Dale Coyne 1m00.623s
24 Paul Tracy Dragon 1m00.452s
25 Charlie Kimball Ganassi 1m00.646s
26 Ana Beatriz Dreyer & Reinbold 1m00.792s comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!