Craig Lowndes on pole for Race 15

Sunday 10th July, 2011 - 12:01pm


Lowndes will start Race 15 from pole position

Lowndes will start Race 15 from pole position

Craig Lowndes has broken Mark Winterbottom’s pole streak, scoring the top spot for Race 15 at Townsville.

The TeamVodafone driver set a blistering 1m12.8533s, over 0.3s ahead of the next best.

Winterbottom (Orrcon Steel FPR) missed out on pole but will start alongside Lowndes on the front-row.

Stratco Racing’s David Reynolds secured his best-ever starting position, taking third place, while yesterday’s race winner Garth Tander (Toll Holden Racing Team) will start fourth.

Completing the top 10 is Will Davison (Trading Post FPR), Lee Holdsworrth (Fujitsu Racing), championship leader Jamie Whincup (TeamVodafone), Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) and James Moffat (Jim Beam Racing).

Listen below to Craig Lowndes’ comments after the session

Craig Lowndes Sunday Townsville qualifying by speedcafe

See below for full starting positions for Race 15 at Townsville

Pos Competitor/Team          Driver              Vehicle             Fastest Gap      
1 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 1:12.8533
2 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:13.1731 0:00.3198
3 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.2065 0:00.3532
4 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.2192 0:00.3659
5 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:13.2581 0:00.4048
6 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.2978 0:00.4445
7 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.3115 0:00.4582
8 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.3530 0:00.4997
9 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.4124 0:00.5591
10 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 1:13.4885 0:00.6352
11 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:13.5452 0:00.6919
12 Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.5459 0:00.6926
13 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.5767 0:00.7234
14 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:13.5816 0:00.7283
15 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.6108 0:00.7575
16 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:13.6767 0:00.8234
17 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.6951 0:00.8418
18 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.6952 0:00.8419
19 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.7193 0:00.8660
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.7671 0:00.9138
21 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:13.7960 0:00.9427
22 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:13.8308 0:00.9775
23 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.8665 0:01.0132
24 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 1:13.8702 0:01.0169
25 R and T Pumps Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:13.9722 0:01.1189
26 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 1:14.1653 0:01.3120
27 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 1:14.2244 0:01.3711
28 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:20.7799 0:07.9266 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!