Webber tops Vettel for Silverstone pole

Saturday 9th July, 2011 - 11:08pm


Webber took his second pole of 2011 at Silverstone

Webber took his second pole of 2011 at Silverstone

Mark Webber has taken his second pole position of the season in a weather affected qualifying session at Silverstone.

Running behind Sebastian Vettel on the road in Q3, Webber narrowly edged his team-mate’s time on the first run, and was assured of pole when rain began to fall in the closing minutes.

Vettel will line-up second on the grid for tomorrow’s British Grand Prix, from Ferrari duo Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa.

Jenson Button will start fifth, ahead of fellow Briton Paul di Resta, Pastor Maldonado, Kamui Kobayashi, Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton.

Rain also came into play during the opening two qualifying segments. A sudden downpour with six minutes remaining in Q1 ensured that Toro Rosso team-mates Sebastien Buemi and Jaime Alguersuari would both miss out on a Q2 berth.

The start of the Q2 session saw a mixture of slick and intermediate tyre choices before the track dried out.

Australian Daniel Ricciardo will start his maiden Grand Prix from 24th and last on the grid, having been 0.6s shy of Hispania team-mate Tonio Liuzzi when the rain began to fall.

Red Bull locked out the front row of the grid despite having its blown diffuser dispensation revoked prior to Practice 3.

The team was not allowed to qualify with the 50 percent off-throttle exhaust blowing engine map settings that were run on Friday after the FIA’s technical working group decreed its earlier ruling on the matter had come after the race meeting had commenced, and was hence invalid.

As the compensation given to Mercedes had been granted prior to the meeting, it will stand for tomorrow’s Grand Prix.

CLICK HERE for’s previous story on the Silverstone diffuser debacle

See below for the full qualifying result

 1 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m30.399s
 2 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m30.431s 0.032
 3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m30.516s 0.117
 4 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m31.124s 0.725
 5 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m31.989s 1.590
 6 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m31.929s 1.530
 7 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1m31.933s 1.534
 8 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m32.128s 1.729
 9 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m32.209s 1.810
10 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m32.376s 1.977
11 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m32.617s 0.977
12 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1m32.624s 0.984
13 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m32.656s 1.016
14 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m32.734s 1.094
15 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m33.119s 1.479
16 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1m33.805s 2.165
17 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1m34.821s 3.181
18 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m35.245s 2.575
19 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m35.749s 3.079
20 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m36.203s 3.533
21 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1m36.456s 3.786
22 Jerome D’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1m37.154s 4.484
23 Tonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 1m37.484s 4.814
24 Daniel Ricciardo HRT-Cosworth 1m38.059s 5.389

See below for’s Silverstone Race Guide

See the Silverstone Race Guide below comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!