Thompson wins crash-marred Fujitsu Race 1

Saturday 9th July, 2011 - 2:30pm


Thompson extended his points lead

Thompson extended his points lead

Andrew Thompson has won a crash-marred opening race for the Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series in Townsville.

The Monster Energy Commodore driver led the entire race from pole position, leading home Jayco Matthew White Motorsport’s David Russell by 1.00s after surviving two Safety Car restarts.

Marcus Zukanovic made a fast start from fifth on the grid to run second early, but subsequently fell behind Russell and Nick Percat (Coates hire Walkinshaw Racing) to take fourth.

Paul Morris (Love Machine PMM) was fifth after passing Jack Perkins (Supercheap Auto Sonic Motor Racing Services) on the penultimate lap.

Rodney Jane (Bob Jane T-Marts Sonic Motor Racing Services), Daniel Jilesen (Greg Murphy Racing), Tim Blanchard (Jayco MWM) and Chaz Mostert (simPro Miles Racing) rounded out the top 10.

The Safety Car was required for the opening five laps of the race after a multi-car pile-up at Turn 2. The incident involved the cars of Taz Douglas (Fastaz Motorsport), Geoff Emery (AC Delco GMR), Ash Walsh (simPro Miles Racing), Aaren Russell (Go Karts Go), Roberg Cregan (Mad Croc MSR) and Dale Wood (Wilson Secuirty).

Todd Fiore (Flexi Staff Triple F) subsequently brought out the second Safety Car on Lap 8 after a spin into the inside concrete wall on the exit of Turn 6.

Series front-runner Scott McLaughlin (Fujitsu SBR) lost time in the opening corner carnage and finished a lowly 16th.

Race 2 of Round 3 of the 2011 Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series is scheduled for 10:00 tomorrow. Mostert will start from pole position under the reverse top 10 grid format.

See below for the full Race 1 result

1 Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson  Holden Commodore VE 24:39.2276 1:14.7220
2 Team Jayco David Russell  Ford Falcon BF 24:40.2274 1:14.9620
3 Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat  Holden Commodore VE 24:41.2425 1:15.0594
4 Midway Concrete&Garden Supply Marcus Zukanovic  Holden Commodore VE 24:44.3565 1:15.5670
5 The Love Machine Paul Morris  Holden Commodore VE 24:45.7861 1:15.4857
6 Bob Jane T Marts/Supercheap Jack Perkins  Ford Falcon BF 24:45.9634 1:15.7692
7 Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane  Ford Falcon FG 24:46.6319 1:16.1169
8 R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen  Holden Commodore VE 24:47.0234 1:15.9102
9 Team Jayco Tim Blanchard  Ford Falcon BF 24:47.9824 1:15.9139
10 Simpro Software/Master Elect. Chaz Mostert  Ford Falcon BF 24:48.4430 1:16.1480
11 Team Tom Supporters Club Tom Tweedie  Ford Falcon BF 24:49.6167 1:16.1706
12 Go Karts Go Drew Russell  Ford Falcon BF 24:49.9629 1:16.0191
13 Eggleston Motorsport Cameron McConville  Holden Commodore VE 24:51.6677 1:15.5084
14 Tricor/EarthEx/Drill Pro Srvs James Brock  Holden Commodore VE 24:52.2798 1:16.3398
15 Flexi Hire Racing Andrew Jones  Holden Commodore VE 24:57.3531 1:16.1749
16 Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin  Ford Falcon BF 25:01.4754 1:18.4244
17 City of Townsville/Bisley Colin Sieders  Ford Falcon BF 25:02.0809 1:17.4453
18 NCSS Aaron McGill  Ford Falcon BF 25:02.8166 1:17.8078
19 Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas  Holden Commodore VZ 25:05.0144 1:15.8885
20 / AFS Tony Bates  Holden Commodore VE 25:06.0992 1:16.2462
21 Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart  Holden Commodore VE 25:07.9244 1:18.9115
DNF Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan  Ford Falcon BF 25:23.0456 1:31.1066
DNF Flexi Staff Todd Fiore  Ford Falcon BF 12:09.5852 1:15.6909
DNF Wilson Security Racing Dale Wood  Holden Commodore VE  1:53.9753 1:53.9753
DNF Simpro Software/Master Elect. Ashley Walsh  Ford Falcon BF 26:44.0225  
DNF AC Delco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery  Holden Commodore VE    
DNF Go Karts Go Aaren Russell  Ford Falcon BF    

See below for’s Townsville V8 Race Guide comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!