Tander wins Race 14 at the Townsville 400

Saturday 9th July, 2011 - 5:06pm


Garth Tander took win number two for the season

Garth Tander took win number two for the season

Garth Tander has taken victory in Race 14 of the 2011 V8 Supercars Championship in Townsville.

Starting from fifth on the grid, Tander showed strong pace over his first two stints on the hard tyre – taking track position from Mark Winterbottom, Will Davison and Jamie Whincup by being one of the first to take a second set of hard tyres on the first round of stops.

Tander then moved past the only two drivers to start on the soft tyre, David Reynolds and Paul Dumbrell, in the second stint, before emerging from the last stops 4s in front of Whincup.

The 2007 champion pulled away fromWhincup for much of the soft tyre stint, before easing home to win by 3.3s in a race devoid of Safety Car periods.

Will Davison hung on for third after an intense final lap battle with a fast-finishing Craig Lowndes.

Mark Winterbottom, Lee Holdsworth, Rick Kelly, Steve Owen, Jason Bright and Russell Ingall rounded out the top 10.

Shane van Gisbergen recovered to 11th after being turned around by team-mate Tim Slade at Turn 13 of the opening lap.

It was a difficult race for Stone Brothers Racing, with Slade and Alex Davison both losing several laps with broken axles.

Twelfth was Paul Dumbrell, who had emerged from the final round of stops in fourth but was powerless to defend his position on the harder tyre.

As the only other driver to start the race with the soft, Reynolds blasted his way from seventh on the grid to the lead by Lap 6.

The Stratco Commodore was over 11s in-front before the end of the first stint, but a broken alternator soon put paid to a strong result.

James Courtney’s chances ended in more spectacular fashion – the Toll HRT Commodore riding over Reynolds’s right-rear wheel and breaking a steering arm when the pair made contact as Reynolds attempted to pit.

Warren Luff joined Courtney on the retirements list – the Gulf Western Commodore driver suffering a right-rear suspension failure on Lap 65 of 72.

Jason Bargwanna was also in the wars, suffering a broken watts linkage after being hit by an out of control Jonathan Webb at Turn 2 on Lap 35. Webb, who dropped to the back of the pack after a poor start, received a drive-through penalty for his part in the incident and finished 21st.

The win for Tander was not without controversy, with the HRT Commodore driver escaping penalty for hitting the pit-entry marker on Lap 49.

See below for the provisional Race 14 result

Pos Competitor/Team Driver Vehicle Laps Race Time
1 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:31:22.6745
2 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:31:25.9886
3 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 72 01:31:35.4997
4 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:31:35.9070
5 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 72 01:31:38.2995
6 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:31:40.2664
7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:31:46.5463
8 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:31:54.3771
9 Team Boc Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:31:57.9740
10 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:31:58.5056
11 SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 72 01:32:02.3055
12 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 72 01:32:04.3173
13 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 72 01:32:06.9441
14 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:32:09.8461
15 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:32:12.4211
16 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:32:24.7574
17 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 72 01:32:25.8831
18 Wilson Security Racing Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 71 01:31:28.9201
19 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 71 01:31:29.2496
20 R and T Pumps Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 71 01:31:48.8813
21 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 71 01:32:05.6463
22 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 70 01:31:54.1430
23 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 64 01:31:48.5327
24 Stratco Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VE2 62 01:32:18.3113
25 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 58 01:31:49.3873
26 Irwin Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 57 01:32:38.4217
DNF Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 62 01:20:54.6606
DNF Toll Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 30 01:01:34.0400 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!