Kyle Busch on pole after rain out

Saturday 9th July, 2011 - 11:52am


Rain hit Kansas after 22 cars had lapped the circuit

Rain hit Kansas after 22 cars had lapped the circuit

Kyle Busch will start the Quaker State 400 at Kansas Speedway from pole position courtesy of setting the fastest practice time after qualifying was rained out.

Twenty-two drivers had completed their qualifying runs pior to the weather arriving, but under NASCAR rain-out rules, the entire session was scrapped in favour of the final practice order.

Juan Pablo Montoya will start alongside Busch, while Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne and Jimmie Johnson rounded out the top five.

Australia’s Marcos Ambrose will line-up 11th.

See below for the full starting order






1 Kyle Busch Toyota M&M’s N/A
2 Juan Montoya Chevrolet Target N/A
3 Kurt Busch Dodge Shell / Pennzoil N/A
4 Kasey Kahne Toyota Red Bull N/A
5 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Lowe’s N/A
6 Brad Keselowski Dodge Miller Lite N/A
7 Carl Edwards Ford Aflac N/A
8 David Ragan Ford UPS “We Love Logistics” N/A
9 Tony Stewart Chevrolet Office Depot / Mobil 1 N/A
10 Paul Menard Chevrolet Sylvania / Menards N/A
11 Marcos Ambrose Ford Porter-Cable Power Tools N/A
12 Regan Smith Chevrolet Furniture Row Companies N/A
13 Matt Kenseth Ford Crown Royal N/A
14 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet DuPont N/A
15 Joey Logano Toyota The Home Depot N/A
16 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota NAPA “Good To Go” Rebate N/A
17 David Reutimann Toyota Tums N/A
18 Ryan Newman Chevrolet Tornados N/A
19 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Budweiser N/A
20 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet Cheerios / Hamburger Helper N/A
21 Greg Biffle Ford 3M N/A
22 Jeff Burton Chevrolet Caterpillar N/A
23 A.J. Allmendinger Ford Valvoline N/A
24 Bobby Labonte Toyota Cottonelle Clean Care N/A
25 Casey Mears Toyota GEICO N/A
26 Denny Hamlin Toyota FedEx Ground N/A
27 Brian Vickers Toyota Red Bull N/A
28 Mark Martin Chevrolet Quaker State / N/A
29 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet Diet Mountain Dew / National Guard N/A
30 Landon Cassill Chevrolet Thank A Teacher Today / Security Benefit N/A
31 Joe Nemechek Toyota NEMCO Motorsports N/A
32 Dave Blaney Chevrolet Big Red N/A
33 Mike Skinner Toyota Big Red N/A
34 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet McDonald’s N/A
35 David Gilliland Ford Taco Bell N/A
36 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet Red Line Oil N/A
37 Travis Kvapil Ford Long John Silver’s N/A
38 Michael McDowell Toyota Standard Publishing / “Relentless Hope” N/A
39 Andy Lally* Ford Cool Works Cup N/A
40 Scott Riggs Chevrolet N/A
41 Tony Raines Ford Front Row Motorsports N/A
42 Mike Bliss Ford Big Red N/A
43 Scott Wimmer Dodge Speed Energy N/A comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!