Thompson fastest in Townsville Fujitsu practice

Friday 8th July, 2011 - 2:39pm


Monster Energy's Andrew Thompson

Monster Energy's Andrew Thompson

Andrew Thompson has led the way on the opening day of practice for Round 3 of the 2011 Fujitsu V8 Supercars Series in Townsville.

The Monster Energy Triple Eight Commodore driver topped both of the 40 minute sessions, with his best time of 1:13.49s set with just four minutes to go in Practice 2.

Walkinshaw Racing’s Coates Hire entry of Nick Percat was 0.36s adrift in second place, with the former Australian Formula Ford Champion narrowly avoiding disaster during a big slide through the fast Turn 10 sweeper in the afternoon.

Cameron McConville (Eggleston Motorsport) and Daniel Jilesen (R&J Batteries GMR) joined Percat in setting late flyers to be third and fourth respectively, edging out the ABC Towing Commodore of Marcus Zukanovic.

Zukanovic had been third fastest in the morning session despite differential and brake problems, and spent much of the afternoon running second on the leaderboard behind the dominant Thompson.

Andrew Jones (Flexi Hire BJR), Paul Morris (The Love Machine PMM), David Russsell (Team Jayco MWR), Todd Fiore (Flexi Staff Triple F) and Geoff Emery (AC Delco GMR) rounded out the top 10.

Scott McLaughlin’s afternoon session lasted just seven minutes before the Fujitsu backed Stone Brothers Racing Falcon of Scott McLaughlin  came to a halt on the circuit with an engine problem, bringing out the red flags.

Jack Perkins (Supercheap Auto Sonic Motor Racing Services) did not turn a lap in the afternoon following a collision with Lindsay Yelland’s Eggleston Motorsport VZ in Practice 1.

Perkins and the remainder of the 28 car field will return to the track tomorrow morning at 9:35 for qualifying.

See below for the combined result for Practice 1 and 2

1  Triple Eight Race Engineering Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 1:13.4851R
2  Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE 1:13.8432 0:00.3581
3  Eggleston Motorsport Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE 1:14.6573 0:01.1722
4  R&J Batteries/EarthEx/KingGee Daniel Jilesen Holden Commodore VE 1:14.7089 0:01.2238
5  Midway Concrete&Garden Supply Marcus Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 1:14.8836 0:01.3985
6  Flexi Hire Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE 1:14.9028 0:01.4177
7  The Love Machine Paul Morris Holden Commodore VE 1:14.9404 0:01.4553
8  Team Jayco David Russell Ford Falcon BF 1:15.0765 0:01.5914
9  Flexi Staff Todd Fiore Ford Falcon BF 1:15.1305 0:01.6454
10  AC Delco/Simworx/NDD Geoff Emery Holden Commodore VE 1:15.1859 0:01.7008
11  Mad Croc Energy Robert Cregan Ford Falcon BF 1:15.1972 0:01.7121
12  Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon BF 1:15.2415 0:01.7564
13  Fastaz Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VZ 1:15.3881 0:01.9030
14  Go Karts Go Drew Russell Ford Falcon BF 1:15.5178 0:02.0327
15  Bob Jane T-Marts Rodney Jane Ford Falcon FG 1:15.5811 0:02.0960
16  Team Jayco Tim Blanchard Ford Falcon BF 1:15.6281 0:02.1430
17  Wilson Security Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VE 1:15.6412 0:02.1561
18  Fujitsu Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon BF 1:15.6824 0:02.1973
19  Simpro Software/Master Elect. Ashley Walsh Ford Falcon BF 1:15.7309 0:02.2458
20  Simpro Software/Master Elect. Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon BF 1:15.9426 0:02.4575
21 / AFS Tony Bates Holden Commodore VE 1:16.0228 0:02.5377
22  Team Tom Supporters Club Tom Tweedie Ford Falcon BF 1:16.1506 0:02.6655
23  Tricor/EarthEx/Drill Pro Srvs James Brock Holden Commodore VE 1:16.8660 0:03.3809
24  City of Townsville/Bisley Colin Sieders Ford Falcon BF 1:17.7042 0:04.2191
25  Bob Jane T Marts/Supercheap Jack Perkins Ford Falcon BF 1:17.7523 0:04.2672
26  NCSS Aaron McGill Ford Falcon BF 1:18.3121 0:04.8270
27  Formula Tech/Interquip Racing Brett Stewart Holden Commodore VE 1:19.6063 0:06.1212
28  Eggleston Motorsport Lindsay Yelland Holden Commodore VZ 1:20.4940 0:07.0089

See below for’s Townsville V8 Race Guide comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!