Paul Dumbrell sets the pace in first practice

Friday 8th July, 2011 - 10:59am


Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell has topped the time sheets after the first practice session at the Townsville street circuit this morning.

The Bottle-O Racing driver set a time of 1m14.3241s, narrowly beating six-time Bathurst 1000 winner Mark Skaife, driving Craig Lowndes’ army-inspired TeamVodafone Commodore.

Dumbrell and Skaife edged out Greg Murphy (Pepsi Max Crew), Steve Richards (Orrcon Steel FPR), Karl Reindler (Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing), Craig Baird (Bundaberg Racing), Andrew Thompson (TeamVodafone), Steve Owen (VIP Petfoods Racing), Tony D’Alberto (Wilson Security Racing) and Jason Bargwanna (Jana Living Racing).

The first and second practice sessions are open to participation from endurance co-drivers.

Those non-regulars involved included Thompson and Skaife (TeamVodafone), Marcus Marshall (Fujitsu Racing), Richards and Luke Youlden (Ford Performance Racing), Daniel Gaunt (Lucky 7 Racing), Dale Wood (Wilson Security Racing), Nick Percat (Toll Holden Racing Team) Baird (Bundaberg Racing), Andrew Jones (Team BOC) Owen Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) and John McIntyre (SP Tools Racing).

The second practice session will be held at 11.40am.

Results; Practice 1; Townsville

1   55  Paul Dumbrell  The Bottle-O Racing Team   Ford Falcon FG  1:14.3241*
2  888  Mark Skaife  TeamVodafone   Holden Commodore VE2  1:14.3529
3   11  Greg Murphy  Pepsi Max Crew   Holden Commodore VE2  1:14.3776
4   95  Steven Richards  Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon   Ford Falcon FG  1:14.9124
5   21  Karl Reindler  Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing   Holden Commodore VE2  1:14.9161
6   61  Craig Baird  Bundaberg Racing   Holden Commodore VE2  1:14.9855
7   88  Andrew Thompson  TeamVodafone   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.0181
8   49  Steve Owen  VIP Petfoods   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.0796
9    3  Tony D’Alberto  Wilson Security Racing   Ford Falcon FG  1:15.0837
10   14  Jason Bargwanna  Jana Living Racing   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.0941
11    2  Nick Percat  Toll Holden Racing Team   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.1300
12    1  James Courtney  Toll Holden Racing Team   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.1420
13   39  Russell Ingall  Supercheap Auto Racing   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.1833
14   16  David Reynolds  Stratco Racing   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.3054
15   34  Marcus Marshall  Fujitsu Racing GRM   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.3597
16    7  Todd Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.3678
17   19  Jonathon Webb  Mother Energy Racing Team   Ford Falcon FG  1:15.5599
18    6  Luke Youlden  Trading Post FPR Falcon   Ford Falcon FG  1:15.5970
19   47  Daniel Gaunt  Lucky 7 Racing   Ford Falcon FG  1:15.6199
20   18  James Moffat  Jim Beam Racing   Ford Falcon FG  1:15.7672
21   12  D.Fiore/M.Patrizi  R and T Pumps   Ford Falcon FG  1:15.7737
22    8  Andrew Jones  Team Boc   Holden Commodore VE2  1:15.8998
23   15  Owen Kelly  Jack Daniel’s Racing   Holden Commodore VE2  1:16.6890
24    9  John McIntyre  SP Tools Racing   Ford Falcon FG  1:16.8054
25   30  Warren Luff  Gulf Western Oil Racing   Holden Commodore VE2  1:17.1823

See below for’s Townsville V8 Race Guide comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!