Aussies falter as Porsche wins Nurburgring 24

Monday 27th June, 2011 - 12:26pm


Porsche took its sixth N24 victory with its #18 entry

Porsche took its sixth N24 victory with its #18 entry

Porsche has won the 39th running of the Nurburgring 24 Hour as the three all-Australian crews failed to finish.

The Porsche 911 GT3 RSR driven by Marc Lieb, Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas and Lucas Luhr took victory by less than five minutes after completing 156 laps of the famed Nordschleife.

The green and gold machine, which led the race for more than 16 hours, ran a largely trouble-free race – save for a refuelling issue that cost the car almost a minute.

BMW’s factory entry of Augusto Farfus, Jörg Müller, Uwe Alzen and Pedro Lamy was good enough for second place, ahead of the first of the Audi R8 LMSs crewed by Marc Basseng, Marcel Fassler, Andrea Piccini and Frank Stippler, which took out the GT3 class.

Audis also took fourth and fifth places outright, ahead of the first of the Mercedes-Benz SLS entries in sixth.

Of the all-Australian crews, it was the BMW M3 E36 that completed the greatest distance, with Richard Gartner, Ray Stubber and Paul Stubber combining for 80 laps of the ‘Green Hell.’

The ex-V8 Supercar Holden Commodore of Mal Rose, Peter Leemhuis and Damien Flack retired after just 28 laps, while the event was a complete disaster for Clint Harvey, Brett Niall, Malcolm Niall and Mark Pilatti, whose Seat Leon Supercopa was forced out after Lap 1. comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!