Hossack Audi heads strong Winton entry

Tuesday 21st June, 2011 - 12:13pm


The John Gourlay Audi will return to action this weekend

The John Gourlay Audi will return to action this weekend

The return of  John Gourlay’s Audi A4 headlines a strong entry for Round 2 of the 2011 Kerrick Sports Sedan Series at Winton’s Shannons Nationals event this weekend.

The 2008 title winning car, driven by Darren Hossack, is not completing the full schedule this year, but is expected to push Round 1 winner Tony Ricciardello all the way on the tight Victorian layout.

Tyres were the main talking point at the Sports Sedans’ opening round at Mallala, with Ricciardello busy adapting his Alfa GTV’s set-up after switching from Dunlops to Michelins.

The GT3-spec French rubber was debuted in the class by Hossack last year, and with Ricciardello having spent 2010 in the V8 Supercars Championship, the Audi team’s extra experience with the tyres could be a deciding factor.

Hossack has played down the potential advantage however, ahead of the first national Sports Sedan races held at Winton since 2003.

“From what I could see on the (Mallala television) coverage, Tony struggled quite a bit with the Michelin,” said Hossack.

“But, he won’t be behind for long. They’re a clever team and he will have spent some serious time coming to grips with the data he collected at Mallala, and I’d suggest he’ll be the pace-setter again at Winton.”

The Sports Sedans will join the Commodore Cup (CLICK HERE for separate story), Radical Australia Cup, Australian Swift Series and the Australian Saloon Car Series on the Shannons Nationals program this weekend.

The Radicals will again run their two-driver format, with the Round 1 winning combination of Jonathon Miles and Tim Berryman desperate to make up for their disaster at Phillip Island last month.

The pair were disqualified from Race 2 after Miles spun on the warm-up lap, and was subsequently deemed to have been a non-starter due to crossing the start line more than 15 seconds after the field had been given the green light.

“I wasn’t sure how Tim would react after that,” said Miles.

“I couldn’t have blamed him for electing to go it alone for the rest of the series.

“After Tim came off at turn one for the first race (while in third place), I wanted to make sure we made the most of our pole position for race two and knew how important tyre temperature would be, so I worked the car hard, only to spin off at MG.”

The new ProSports category for GT vehicles was set to make its debut at Winton, but has been withdrawn from the schedule due to a lack of entries. The class is now expected to make its debut at Phillip Island on November 4-6.

Sunday’s action from Winton will be streamed live over the internet at

See below for the Winton entry lists.

Kerrick Sports Sedan Series

4 S1 Auto Union Deutche Darren Hossack Vic Audi A4 6000
5 S1 Red Rooster Tony Ricciardello WA Alfa Romeo GTV 6000
7 S1 Steve Toyshop/Menai Blinds Scott Butler NSW Chev Camaro 6000
9 S2 Centreline Suspensio/HIS Hoses Chris Muscat Vic Mazda RX7 3300
10 S1 Jocaro Motors Calvin Pusterla Vic Chev Corvette 5700
12 S1 Pakenham Tyrepower Chas Talbot Vic Holden Comm 6000
19 S2 Johnson Motorsport Damian Johnson Vic Holden Torana 3300
21 S2 G&G Engineering/P&L Mechanical Graeme Gilliland Vic Mazda RX7 2289
25 S1 Jocaro Motors Neil Bryson Vic Ford Mustang 6000
32 S1 Bell Real Estate Michael Robinson Vic Holden Monaro 6000
44 S1 M R Automotive P/L Colin Smith Qld Rover Vitesse 6000
49 S1 Pipeline Plumbing Dave Pettit Vic Chev Camaro 5000
51 S1 Marinelli’s Mechanical & Perf Bob McLoughlin Qld Holden Comm 6000
56 S1 BJ Banks Electrical Bruce Banks Tas Mazda RX7 5998
66 S1 Five Star Fencing & Gates Dean Camm Vic Chev Corvette 6000
68 S1 Aston Air Conditioning Shane Bradford Qld Chev Camaro 6000
70 S1 Dandy Engines Keith Linnell Vic Ford Cortina 6000
73 S1 Blush Photography/Ramsdale Wreckers Garry Roberts Vic Holden Torana 4433
88 S1 Esjay Commercial Plastering Ian Rice Vic Holden Comm 4550
97 S1 Bohler Uddenholm Aust. Pty Ltd Anthony Macready NSW Nissan 300ZX 6000

Radical Australia Cup

1 Radical Australia Peter Opie Radical 1500 Black
4 MPA Projects Edward Singleton Radical 1500 White
5 Haggarty Racing Team Simon Haggarty Radical 1500 Wh/Red
6 Haggarty Racing Team Tony Haggarty Radical 1500 Red
7 DEPUTY.COM Steve Shelley Radical 1500 White
8 Nevco Engineering George Pethard Radical 1500 White
9 Radical Australia Chris Medland/Nathan Stevens Radical 1500 Chrome
11 Radical Team Melbourne Robert Baird/Gary Walker Radical 1500 Silver
16 WT Partnership Phil Anseline/Oliver Smith Radical 1500 Black
32 Navybox School of Motorsport Sue Hughes Radical 1500 Blue
33 Volvo Cars Australia Tim Berryman/Jon Miles Radical 1500 White
44 Interior Developments Glyn Edis Radical 1500 Green
45 Thetradeinnet Shane Otten Radical 1500 Black
57 Key Produce Richard Bloomfield Radical 1500 White
70 Radical Events Tony Palmer Radical 1500 Black
78 Radical Australia Greg Smith/Bryon Smith Radical 1500 Orange

Australian Swift Series

3 Trans Tasman M/sport Sarah Wylie QLD Swift Sport 1500 Yellow
5 Trans Tasman M/sport Rex McCutcheon NZ Swift Sport 1500 White
6 Haber Racing Team Morgan haber QLD Swift Sport 1500 White
10 Ice Break Jesse Dixon QLD Swift Sport 1500 Blue
16 Kleenduct Racing Harley Phelan VIC Swift Sport 1500 Black
17 Toa57d Motorsport Rob Jarvis QLD Swift Sport 1500 White
20 Trans Tasman M/sport Josh Hughes VIC Swift Sport 1500 Red
27 Toa57d Motorsport Allan Jarvis QLD Swift Sport 1500 Black
84 Trans Tasman M/sport Brooke  Leech QLD Swift Sport 1500 Yellow
96 Trans Tasman M/sport Charlie Kovacs Jr SA Swift Sport 1500 Red

Australian Saloon Car Series

5 Coffey Ford Andrew Nowland Vic AU Falcon Blue/Wh
6 Tony Evangelou Vic VT Comm Grn/Black
7 Nippy’s Sam Milton SA AU Falcon Black
10 Nullawarre Transport Tony McKenzie SA VN Comm Wh/Yellow
15 Bowden Homes Shawn Jamieson SA VT Comm Red
16 Kleenduct Australia P/L Harley Phelan Vic VT Comm Purple
17 Batteries Direct Matt Lovell SA AU Falcon Green
18 RED TBA Qld VT Comm Black
25 Laurie Ogle Motors Rod Lloyd Vic EA Falcon White/Yellow
26 Tru-Blu Motorsport Meg Carra Vic AU Falcon Blue/White
27 Transley Solutions Luke Westall NSW AU Falcon White/Blue
28 O’Connell’s tyres Craig O’Connell Vic EA Falcon
34 Warby’s Engines Alf Kuusela Vic AU Falcon Orange
38 GMG Automotive Gavin Ross Vic VT Comm Green
41 Dial Before You Dig Mark Primmer NSW AU Falcon Red/Blue
42 Dial Before You Dig Ian Chivas NSW AU Falcon Red/Blue
46 Premium Showers & Robes Paul Pennisi Vic VT Comm Black
47 Cameron Hoskins Cam Hoskins Vic EA Falcon
50 Raymond Moss Cameron Moss NSW AU Falcon Grn/Silver
54 O’Connell’s tyres Andrew O’Connell Vic EA Falcon
62 Bridge Model Cars Mark Bryan SA EB Falcon Green/Black
67 Phil Gray Phil Gray Vic EA Falcon Red/Wh/Blu
70 Mal Wood Automotive Kelli Stephens Vic AU Falcon Blue
82 Geoff Brown Vic AU Falcon Black
91 Walkom Perf Engines Naomi Maltby SA VN Comm Blue

 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!